Archival Collections - History - old - Research Guides at Eastern Michigan University

Researching in the Archives

Harness the Power: Researching in the Archives & On the Web
Powerpoint show presented by University Archivist Alexis Braun Marks on June 10, 2017.

EMU Archivist Alexis Braun Marks describes what you will find in various archives and what to expect when you visit an archives.

This presentation includes links to online collections, with an emphasis on archives in southeast Michigan.

Archival/Unpublished Materials

Note for Fall 2020 - Many archives are closed, or have greatly reduced hours or services due to COVID-19. If you plan on visiting an archive, please check its hours and reading room policies.

Authors will often refer to unpublished materials in a bibliography or in footnotes. The bibliographic information will include the archives, library, or museum that houses the materials as well as the name of the collection. You can search for the internet for the name of the archives, library or museum to determine if they have the materials digitized and online.

Be aware that while many archives are making portions of their collections available online, few archives have all or the majority of their materials available online.

There are local archives and special collections that may be useful for some topics.

Eastern Michigan University Archives
Materials available include documents produced by administrative, academic, and research units in the course of University business; records of students, faculty, staff, alumni/alumnae, and student organizations; published and unpublished materials that document all aspects of the EMU community.
University of Michigan's Michigan History collections (Bentley Historical Library)
The Bentley's Michigan History collections "documents the history of the state of Michigan and the activities of its people and organizations."
William L. Clements Library (University of Michigan)
"...collections comprise primary source material in a variety of formats—books, manuscripts, maps, and graphics—all of which illuminate the history of the Americas "
The Benson Ford Research Center at The Henry Ford
"The Benson Ford Research Center holdings include the historical records and photographs of Ford Motor Company and The Henry Ford, the Henry Austin Clark, Jr., Automotive History Collection, and other major holdings in automotive, industrial, social and cultural American history."
Walter P. Reuther Library
The Walter P. Reuther Library is"the largest labor archive in North America. Its mission is to collect, preserve and provide access to the documentary and visual heritage of the American labor movement, related reform movements and individual participants."
Michigan State University Archives and Historical Collections
"...collects the official records of the institution and preserve the legacy of the nation's pioneer land-grant university." Collections include university records, historical collections, University publications, and photographic collections.
Michigan State University Special Collections
"...collects, houses, and preserves rare and unique materials within the MSU Libraries." Special collections include Africana, radicalism, cookbooks, and more.
Clarke Historical Library (Central Michigan University)
The Clarke Historical Library documents "the history of Michigan and the Old Northwest Territory."

Locating Archival Collections

ArchiveGrid
Contains findings aids and other information about archival collections in the United States.
WorldCat
Includes information about archival collections worldwide.
*Limit to archival materials using the "Limit to:" option on the search screen.

Get Research Help

Use 24/7 live chat below or:

Academic Projects Center in-person help, Mon-Thur, 10am - 5pm

Email or phone replies

Appointments with librarians

Access Library and Research Help tutorials