Stable Links for Library Resources

How to create stable links for online articles and books.

General Instructions

To link to an article from a library database or online journal subscription, follow these general guidelines:

  1. Don't copy the link from the browser navigation bar - this is unlikely to be a stable URL.
  2. Look for a stable link - often labeled Copy link, Stable link, Permalink, Bookmark or something similar.
  3. Add the EMU proxy if needed:
    • Check to see if the link includes the EMU proxy prefix:
      http://ezproxy.emich.edu/login?url=
    • If not, use the EMU Proxy Link Generator to add the proxy to the beginning of the link, for example:  
      http://ezproxy.emich.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/4150004
See directions for particular databases below.  More database instructions will be added soon.

Ebsco

Ebsco databases, including:

  • CINAHL
  • EbscoHost ebooks
  • GreenFile

Link to a document:

Look for: Permalink - Tools (right side)
Need to add EMU proxy: No

Gale

Most Gale databases, including:

  • Gale Power Search

Link to a document:

Look for: Bookmark this Document, under Tools
Need to add EMU proxy: Yes, go to the EMU Proxy Link Generator

Link to search results:

Look for: Bookmark, under Tools
Need to add EMU proxy: Yes, go to the EMU Proxy Link Generator

Gale Virtual Reference Library - Link to a document

Look for: Bookmark - top left
Need to add EMU proxy: Yes, go to the EMU Proxy Link Generator

General Business File

no stable links

JSTOR

Link to a document

Look for:  Stable URL near the top of the screen
Need to add EMU proxy: Yes, go to the EMU Proxy Link Generator

ProQuest

ProQuest databases, including:

  • ABI/Inform
  • Criminal Justice Periodicals
  • Dissertations & Theses Full Text
  • ERIC
  • Entrepreneurship
  • GenderWatch
  • ProQuest PowerSearch
  • PsycARTICLES

Link to a document:

  • Go to the Abstract format
  • Scroll to the bottom of the screen
  • Copy the Document URL 
  • Need to add EMU proxy: No