Banner Image

Eastern Michigan University Archives

A guide to the collections and resources available through the University Archives at EMU.

Eastern Michigan University Archives



Throughout the course of daily life, the University community creates and keeps information about their personal and business activities. These records--and the places they are kept--are called 'archives.' Archival records take many forms, including minutes, catalogs, bulletins, programs, reports, correspondence, special publications, photographs, scrapbooks, video, and sound recordings. 

Established in 1970, the mission of the Eastern Michigan University Archives is to manage theinformation resources created by University faculty, staff, students and administrators. To this end we provide access to the rich history of Eastern Michigan University and all the names it was known by before: Eastern Michigan College, Michigan State Normal College and the Michigan State Normal School.

Search Finding Aids

Use the box above to search all collections open for research.

Plan a Visit

Location: Room 310, Bruce T. Halle Library, 955 W. Circle Dr, Ypsilanti, MI. Map and driving directions.

Winter Hours: Open Tuesday and Thursday from 9am until 5pm or by appointment.

Contact: Email: / 

Phone: 734-487-2673 / Fax: 734-484-1151

It is strongly recommended that all requests for materials be made at least 24 hours in advance of a visit to the University Archives. Materials housed in the University Archives do not circulate. All materials must be used in the reading room. 

Scheduling Appointments: Appointments can be made Monday - Friday between 9am and 5pm. Archives staff will accommodate requests as we are able and suggest contacting the archives at least 24-48 hours in advance of your desired appointment time. You must receive confirmation of an appointment to be granted access to the archives.