Eastern Michigan University Archives

A guide to the collections and resources available through the University Archives at EMU.

Plan a Visit

Location: Room 310, Bruce T. Halle Library, 955 W. Circle Dr, Ypsilanti, MI. Map and driving directions.

Fall/Winter Hours: Open 9am to 5pm Tuesday and Thursday. Appointments available as requested.

Contact: Email: lib_archives@emich.edu / 

Phone: 734-487-2673 / Fax: 734-484-1151

It is strongly recommended that all requests for materials be made at least 24 hours in advance of a visit to the University Archives. Materials housed in the University Archives do not circulate. All materials must be used in the reading room. 

Scheduling Appointments: Appointments can be made Monday - Friday between 9am and 5pm. Archives staff will accommodate requests as we are able and suggest contacting the archives at least 24-48 hours in advance of your desired appointment time. You must receive confirmation of an appointment to be granted access to the archives.

Logistics of Getting to Ypsilanti

Driving Directions to Campus:

  • From US-23 (North or South-bound)
    • Exit at eastbound Washtenaw Avenue. [Exit at the 37A turnoff to Ypsilanti and the sign for EMU].
    • Remain on Washtenaw for 2.5 miles.
    • At Oakwood, turn left.
  • From I-94 Eastbound
    • Exit at the Huron Street Exit. [Exit 183 to downtown Ypsilanti and the sign for EMU.]
    • At the light, turn left. Remain on Huron Street for 1.5 miles, crossing Michigan Avenue.
    • Go for 4 blocks and turn left at Cross Street, using the curving left-turn lane. If you miss the left-hand turn lane, turn left at the stop sign.
    • Remain on Cross Street for approximately 1 mile (pass by the Water Tower on left).
    • At Oakwood (5th light), turn right.
  • From I-94 Westbound
    • Exit at Huron Street Exit. [Exit 183 to downtown Ypsilanti and the sign for EMU]
    • On the exit, veer to the right-hand lane marked Huron Street N. Ypsilanti.
    • Remain on Huron Street for 1 mile, crossing Michigan Avenue.
    • Go for 4 blocks and turn left at Cross Street, using the curving left-turn lane. If you miss the left-hand lane, turn left at the stop sign. Remain on Cross Street for approximately 1 mile.
    • At Oakwood (5th light), turn right.
  • From Michigan Avenue Westbound
    • In downtown Ypsilanti turn right on Huron Street.
    • Go for 4 blocks and turn left at Cross Street, using the curving left-turn lane. If you miss the left-hand lane, turn left at the stop sign. Remain on Cross Street for approximately 1 mile.
    • At Oakwood (5th light), turn right.
  • The visitor lots closest to Halle Library and the University Archives are Bowen, McKenny, and the Student Center. All can be accessed via Oakwood St.
  • The cost is $1.00 per hour.
  • The Campus Map shows locations of parking lots and their proximity to Halle Library.
Loading

Photocopies & Reproductions

There is a self-service photocopier available for researchers to make facsimiles of materials. The cost for photocopying is $0.10/copy. Patrons are asked to pay cash for copies. Please note: The archives does not accept university copy cards.

If you are unable to travel to campus but wish to have materials copied, the cost is $0.50/copy.

The University Archives is equipped to scan materials for patrons. If you are interested in learning more about these services and their associated costs, please contact the archives via phone 734-487-2673 or email lib_archives@emich.edu

Patron Registration

In order to protect the physical integrity of the Archives holdings, and to gather information about the breadth and depth of research use, researchers will be required to register and will be permitted to examine materials only in the Archives under the supervision of designated staff. The registration will include a formal commitment to abide by standard archival policies, and will request information about the researcher’s institutional affiliation and research purpose.

Classroom support

The University Archive is happy to work with teaching faculty and lecturers to incorporate primary source materials into the learning process. We will arrange tours, orientations, presentations and class visits to incorporate archives’ materials in their courses.

The University Archives provides the following services to faculty members:

  • Access to materials for assignments
  • Small group presentations about using primary source materials
  • In-class presentations to large classes about researching with primary source materials and using archives
  • Tours for small groups