Eastern Michigan University Archives

A guide to the collections and resources available through the University Archives at EMU.

Donating to the Univeristy Archives

The University Archives welcomes donation of organizational, administrative, and personal documents, photographs, scrapbooks, memorabilia and other materials that help preserve the history of Eastern Michigan University (EMU), its students, alumni, faculty and staff.

Gifts are accepted with the understanding that they become the property of the University Archives, and decisions concerning retention, cataloging, and location will be made by the University Archivist. Under special circumstances, gifts may be accepted with agreed upon restrictions as to their disposition, use, or location.

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) regulations forbid an institution to assign a monetary value to any gifts received. It is the responsibility of the donor to enlist the aid of an attorney, if needed, and to employ recognized appraisers.

If you are interested in donating, or have questions about whether the University Archives at EMU is the best place for your donation please email us at lib_archives@emich.edu or contact the University Archivist, Alexis Braun Marks, CA.

  1. The primary collecting scope of the University Archives is the official records of the University. Another significant emphasis is given to collecting records created by the University’s faculty and staff when those papers bear directly on the University or contain other historical value that might reasonably benefit undergraduate teaching or research, and student organizations. Non-University related family papers, ephemera, and other materials will not be collected.
  2. The University Archives will not actively compete with city or county historical agencies for non-University material, unless the documents have great historical value to the University.
  3. The University Archives will not, generally, collect drafts, galleys, or proofs of published works by faculty, staff, or alumni.
  4. Transfer or donation of records and papers to the University Archives will follow these procedures:
    1. The physical transfer of official University records to the Archives grants the authority for the University Archivist to appraise, arrange, describe, and make them available for research. The transfer should be documented by a written receipt or agreement specifying the conditions of transfer with regard to legal title, copyright, restrictions of access, and authority to weed.
    2. For special collections and unofficial records or individual papers, donation or transfer should be documented by a written receipt or donor agreement specifying the conditions of transfer with regard to legal title, copyright, restrictions of access, and authority to weed.
    3. An accession register will be maintained, recording the date, title, office or donor, extent, condition, and access restrictions for every record group or collection of papers transferred or donated.