Eastern Michigan University Archives

A guide to the collections and resources available through the University Archives at EMU.

Gordy Motown audio collection

In 1972, Eastern Michigan University Archives began receiving new releases from Motown on a regular basis that continued through 1988. These releases comprise the Gordy Motown audio collection, which consists of more than 2,200 recordings as well as 7 boxes of printed materials with an emphasis on recordings made from 1960-1988.

The collection is arranged into three record groups based on format: Sound Recordings, Print Materials, and  Exhibitions and artifacts.

Sound Recordings includes 45 rpm Singles and Albums. The 45 rpm domestic Singles were produced and distributed in the United States and are sorted by label and arranged numerically within each label by record number. The 45 rpm Singles that were produced and distributed outside the United States and are arranged alphabetically by country then alphabetically by label within each country then numerically within each label by record number. The Albums are arranged alphabetically by artist or band name then alphabetically by title within each artist.

Print Materials includes Sheet Music and Complete Scores, and Songbooks which are arranged alphabetically by title; Clippings, Promotional Materials, and Photographs; Publications; and Catalogs, Production Materials, and Inventories which are all arranged chronologically.

The Exhibitions and Artifacts materials documents the Henry Ford / Greenfield Village Exhibit in 1995-1997 in addition to documenting objects used for promotional purposes at industry conventions and other events. Albums within the record group are arranged alphabetically by artist, while the other materials in the record group are arranged chronologically.

View the complete finding aid in  HTML or as a PDF

Plan a Visit

Location: Room 310, Bruce T. Halle Library, 955 W. Circle Dr, Ypsilanti, MI. Map and driving directions.

Fall/Winter Hours: Open 9am to 5pm Tuesday and Thursday. Appointments available as requested.

Contact: Email: lib_archives@emich.edu / 

Phone: 734-487-2673 / Fax: 734-484-1151

It is strongly recommended that all requests for materials be made at least 24 hours in advance of a visit to the University Archives. Materials housed in the University Archives do not circulate. All materials must be used in the reading room. 

Scheduling Appointments: Appointments can be made Monday - Friday between 9am and 5pm. Archives staff will accommodate requests as we are able and suggest contacting the archives at least 24-48 hours in advance of your desired appointment time. You must receive confirmation of an appointment to be granted access to the archives.