Eastern Michigan University Archives

A guide to the collections and resources available through the University Archives at EMU.

Historic Preservation Special Collection

Created as part of the Historic Preservation Program's 30th Anniversary, the Historic Preservation Special Collection (HPSC) began with donations from Ann Arbor historian and program alumna, Susan Wineberg, and the Ypsilanti Historic District Commission Chair, Jane Schmiedeke. The HPSC has grown to include the papers of Eastern Michigan University Historic Preservation Program co-founder Dr. Marshall McLennan, pioneer preservationist Dr. W. Brown Morton of the University of Mary Washington, the organizational records of the National Council for Preservation Education (NCPE), the Michigan Museum Association records, and the organizational records of the Detroit Club.

The HPSC strives to document the evolution of the historic preservation movement in several areas, including Ypsilanti and Ann Arbor, as well on a national and international level. Included in the collection are original research, historic building surveys, maps, images and ephemera that documents cultural tourism in the United States, as well as books and articles specific to building preservation and technology, decorative arts and material culture, cultural landscapes, preservation planning, and catalogs used for period research.

Collections included under the HPSC include: 

Detroit Club collection, Link to the Finding Aid: HTML/PDF
Historic Preservation Program records, Link to the Finding Aid: HTML/PDF
Jane Schmiedeke papers, Link to the Finding Aid: HTML/PDF
Mary Culver papers, Link to the Finding Aid: HTML/PDF
Michigan Museum Association records, Link to the Finding Aid: HTML/PDF 
National Council for Preservation Education records, Link to the Finding Aid: HTML/PDF
Preservation Eastern collection, Link to the Finding Aid: HTML/PDF
Susan Wineberg collection, Link to the Finding Aid: HTML/PDF
Washtenaw Cty Historic Preservation Program surveys, Link to the Finding Aid: HTML/PDF Link to the Digital Versions
Woolridge Brown Morton III papers, Link to the Finding Aid: HTML/PDF

Donating to the Historic Preservation Special Collection

The University Archives welcomes donation of organizational, administrative, and personal documents, photographs, scrapbooks, memorabilia and other materials that help document the history of the preservation movement.

Gifts are accepted with the understanding that they become the property of the University Archives, and decisions concerning retention, cataloging, and location will be made by the University Archivist. Under special circumstances, gifts may be accepted with agreed upon restrictions as to their disposition, use, or location.

Internal Revenue Service (IRS) regulations forbid an institution to assign a monetary value to any gifts received. It is the responsibility of the donor to enlist the aid of an attorney, if needed, and to employ recognized appraisers.

If you are interested in donating to the University, or have questions about whether the archives at EMU is the best place for your donation please email us at lib_archives@emich.edu

Plan a Visit

Location: Room 310, Bruce T. Halle Library, 955 W. Circle Dr, Ypsilanti, MI. Map and driving directions.

Fall/Winter Hours: Open 9am to 5pm Tuesday and Thursday. Appointments available as requested.

Contact: Email: lib_archives@emich.edu / 

Phone: 734-487-2673 / Fax: 734-484-1151

It is strongly recommended that all requests for materials be made at least 24 hours in advance of a visit to the University Archives. Materials housed in the University Archives do not circulate. All materials must be used in the reading room. 

Scheduling Appointments: Appointments can be made Monday - Friday between 9am and 5pm. Archives staff will accommodate requests as we are able and suggest contacting the archives at least 24-48 hours in advance of your desired appointment time. You must receive confirmation of an appointment to be granted access to the archives.