Research Guides: Disability Studies: Getting Started

Getting Started - Reference Sources

This guide is intended for students who are interested in finding resources related to Disability Studies.

Reference works are an excellent way of getting background information on your topic. They're usually trustworthy because they've been written and reviewed by subject experts.

Print & Electronic Resources

Encyclopedia of Disability by G. Albrecht (Ed.)
Publication Date: 2006

More than 500 scholars have written over 1,000 entries to bring readers closer to the daily experience of disability. Includes primary source documents in the field of disability.
Disability: A Reference Handbook by Mi. Rembis
Publication Date: 2019

Weaves together interpretive and analytical frameworks and primary documents. Provides analysis of decades of disability studies and disability history research.
Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies by N. Watson (Ed.)
Publication Date: 2019

Takes a multidisciplinary approach to disability and provides an overview of the main issues in the field around the world today.
Encyclopedia of American Disability History by S. Burch
Publication Date: 2009

Examines the issues, events, people, activism, laws, personal experiences, and social ramifications of disability throughout American history.
Arts and Humanities (SAGE Reference Series on Disability) by Brueggemann, B.
Publication Date: 2012

Explores the arts and humanities within the lives of people with disabilities.
The Oxford Handbook of Music and Disability Studies by B. Howe (Ed.)
Publication Date: 2015

Spans a wide chronological and geographical range, from the biblical, the medieval, and the Elizabethan, through the canonical classics of the 18th and 19th centuries, up to modernist styles and contemporary musical theater and popular genres.