Finding Tests, Scales, and Measures

Selected books with tests

Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health by Baer & Blais
Call Number: E-book

Publication Date: 2010

Includes measures and scales for many areas, including depression, anxiety, bipolar disorder, addictions, personality disorders, eating disorders, and more.
Some of the scales are available in the book, look at the end of a chapter.
Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences
Call Number: REF LB 3051 .L4543 2014

Publication Date: 2014

Includes text of 130+ instruments for 40 topics, extracted from the research literature.
In addition to the ebook, the library has a print copy on reference.

Usage note: The instruments are all listed under the Table of Contents link labelled Introduction to the Instrument Section (234 pages!). The first and second pages (91-92) include a list of the categories, which you can look for alphabetically in that long section.
Ebook funded by GAMEABOVE.

Measures for clinical practice and research : a sourcebook (5th Edition)/ Joel Fischer, Kevin Corcoran.
Location: Reference Collection 2nd Level West
Call Number: BF176 .C66 2013
This 2-volume book contains full instruments on a wide variety of areas relevant to clinical practice with couples, family, children and adults.

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
This free database reveals the contents of over 140 books that have compilations of tests. For each book on this list, there is a list of the tests and often a link to the WorldCat record for the book.

WorldCat will show libraries that cataloged the book including EMU and UM. When you see EMU listed, click on the link and it may take you to the record for the book in Esearch. When not readily available at EMU (or nearby) the info in WorldCat can be used on the interlibrary loan form.

Print Books at the Library with Full Text Instruments

The Developmental Resource: Behavioral Sequences for Assessment and Program Planning by Marilyn Cohen; Pamela Gross
Call Number: REF BF 721 .C566 v1 & v2

Publication Date: 1979

Provides developmental sequences of behaviors for different age ranges related to Sensorimotor/Early Cognitive Development; Motor Development; Language Development; Preacademic/Skill Development; Social Development; Adaptive Living Skills Development; Creative Activities; & Response to Reinforcement.
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research, Volume 2 by Kevin Corcoran; Joel Fischer (Editors)
Call Number: REF BF 176 .C66 2013 v1 & v2

Publication Date: 2013

Includes full text instruments for use with couples, families, children, and adults. Also, includes information on scoring, reliability, and validity.
Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes by John P. Robinson; Philllip R. Shaver; Lawrence S. Wrightsman (Editors)
Call Number: REF BF 698.4 .M38 1991

Publication Date: 1990-12-01

Includes full text instruments for assessing personality, attitude, and social interaction.
Scales for the measurement of attitudes by Marvin E. Shaw & Jack M. Wright
Call Number: REF BF 378 .A75 S45

Publication Date: 1967

Offers full text scales for measuring attitudes.

Useful for Identifying Tests by Subject

Tests in Print VIII by L. Murphy; K. Geisinger; J. Carlson; R. Spies (Editors); Buros Institute
Call Number: REF 5814 .E9 T47

Publication Date: 2011

This physical book at the library can be used to look up tests by subject. There are no full text instruments in the book, just brief info on the tests.
Sex and Gender Issues by Carole A. Beere
Call Number: REF BF 692 .B38 1990

Publication Date: 1990

Describes 197 measures on heterosocial relations, sexuality, contraception and abortion, pregnancy and childbirth, somatic issues, homosexuality, rape and sexual coercion, family violence, body image and appearance, eating disorders, and other scales.

Get Research Help

Use 24/7 live chat below or:

Appointments with Librarians online or in person

Drop-in help Mon-Thur, 9am-6pm

Question form for email or phone replies

Access Library and Research Help tutorials

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2025 4:47 PM
URL: https://guides.emich.edu/tests
Print Page

Subjects: Communication & Speech, Education, Health & Medicine, Psychology, Social Work