Research Guides: Legal Reference Sources: Federal & State Court Cases

Court Cases Online

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Perform legal research and/or search for news articles
Subjects: U.S. Law, State Law, European Union Law, News
Info type: court cases, laws, regulations, law review articles, legal encyclopedias, legal guides, law dictionary, news articles
NOTE: Many functions of Westlaw will only function properly if you disable any pop-up blocker. For example, printing may not work if a pop-up blocker is active.
HeinOnline's Government, Politics & Law This link opens in a new window
EMU's HeinOnline subscription includes access to policy briefs, publications and special collections on civil rights, international law, women, slavery, gun regulation and more. This government document and legal research database contains comprehensive coverage of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.

Oyez Project (free site)
U. S. Supreme Court oral argument recordings, case abstracts, justice biographies, and more.
Legal Information Institute (LII)
The LII collection covers federal law (specifically Supreme Court cases, the U.S. Code, and the Code of Federal Regulations, as well as the Uniform Commercial Code)

United States Reports
The official reporter of the U.S. Supreme Court. Contains all opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States in chronological order.
Print copy - Law Reference - 2nd Level North - KF101 .A212
Michigan Reports: Reports of Cases Heard and Decided in the Supreme Court of Michigan
Official publication of all decisions of the Michigan Supreme Court.
Print copy - Law Reference - 2nd Level North - KFM 4245 .A23
Michigan Appeals Reports: Cases Decided in the Michigan Court of Appeals
Official publication of all decisions of the Michigan Court of Appeals. Organized chronologically.
Print copy - Law Reference - 2nd Level North - KFM 4248 .A2
Lower Court Decisions
To locate decisions from the lower courts (federal district courts or Michigan trial courts) contact the court directly.

West digests contain summaries of court cases and are arranged by subject. Consulting a digest can lead you to relevant court cases.

Use 24/7 live chat below or:

Academic Projects Center in-person help, Mon-Thur, 10am - 5pm

Appointments with librarians