Genetics & Genomics

This site contains a list of professional societies for genetics.

The BLAST database "finds regions of local similarity between sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches. BLAST can be used to infer functional and evolutionary relationships between sequences as well as help identify members of gene families."

NCBI Genome Resource guides provide links, scoped searches, and alerts for a variety of genome-oriented data sources.

Does not include all known or predicted genes; instead focuses on genomes that have been completely sequenced, that have an active research community, or that are scheduled for intense sequence analysis. Content represents the result of curation and automated integration of data from NCBI's Reference Sequence project (RefSeq), from collaborating model organism databases, and from many other NCBI databases. Records are assigned unique, stable and tracked integers as identifiers.

The Genome database provides views for a variety of genomes, complete chromosomes, sequence maps with contigs, and integrated genetic and physical maps. The database is organized in six major organism groups: Archaea, Bacteria, Eukaryotae, Viruses, Viroids, and Plasmids and includes complete chromosomes, organelles and plasmids as well as draft genome assemblies.

Links to websites providing educational resources relating to DNA and genetics

Lesson plans, illustrations, and animations to support the teaching of genetics. From the University of Utah.

Scitable is a free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by Nature Publishing Group, the world's leading publisher of science.

Scitable currently concentrates on genetics and cell biology, which include the topics of evolution, gene expression, and the rich complexity of cellular processes shared by living organisms. Scitable also offers resources for the budding scientist, with advice about effective science communication and career paths.

Web resources, educational tools, and interactive activities related to genetics, cell biology, and ecology. From the Nature Publishing Group.

The main purpose of VideoLectures.net is to provide free and open access of high quality video lectures by distinguished scholars and scientists at the most important and prominent events like conferences, summer schools, workshops and science promotional events from many fields of science. The portal is aimed at promoting science, exchanging ideas and fostering knowledge sharing by providing high quality didactic contents not only to a scientific community but also to a general public.

TAIR maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence, gene structure, gene product information, metabolism, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community. TAIR is at the Carnegie Institution for Science Department of Plant Biology, on Stanford University's campus.

This website is home to work that related to the Human Genome Project. The NHGRI led the National Institutes of Health's (NIH) contribution to the International Human Genome Project, which had as its primary goal the sequencing of the human genome. This project was successfully completed in April 2003. Now, the NHGRI's mission has expanded to encompass a broad range of studies aimed at understanding the structure and function of the human genome and its role in health and disease.

This site contains the reference sequence and working draft assemblies for a large collection of genomes. It also provides a portal to the ENCODE (Encyclopedia of DNA Elements) project. Site hosted by University of California, Santa Cruz.

The U.S. Department of Energy's Genomic Science Program uses new genomic data and high-throughput technologies for studying the proteins encoded by microbial and plant genomes to explore their amazingly diverse natural capabilities.