Research Guides: EDPS 225 (Donnell): Where to Search

Library Handouts for Education Students

What Can the Library Do for You?
A "cheat sheet" on library services for COE students.
Finding Full Text Articles: The Persistent Method
Sometimes electronic full text of an article may be just a few clicks away. If one way doesn’t work, there are other ways to try.

PsycINFO Classification Codes
These codes are sometimes useful when searching the PsycINFO database.
APA Databases Methodology Field Values
You can search by methodology in PsycINFO. This handout defines the methodology terms used.

Acknowledgment

The original version of this class guide was designed by librarian Keith Stanger.

Hello EDPS 325 students!

This guide has resources to help you find the articles you need for your assignment. This page has a link to Google Scholar, which your instructor recommends for this assignment. If you know how to search other library databases, the other databases listed on this page may also be useful.

Finding the full text of articles can be tricky. The Tips for Finding Full Text page of this guide can help with that, especially the second page of the handout Finding Full Text Articles: The Persistent Method, which has tips for finding full text when in Google Scholar.

Determining if your article is a research article, rather than some other sort of article in a journal, can be challenging. The info on the Is it a Scholarly Article? page may be helpful.

Don't hesitate to ask for help from the librarians. You can get help in-person at the library, via online chat, or with an appointment over Zoom. Options are described on the Research Help page.

Useful Article Databases for this Project

Google Scholar with EMU Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly materials on any topic
Info type: scholarly articles, books, research reports, theses, working papers, cited sources
Access Tips: Use link above to get access to EMU subscriptions with Findtext+ links.
If this link does not work and you receive an error message from Google then use this alternate link to Google Scholar and also set your Google Scholar preferences to show EMU library access links.
Search Instruction: Google Scholar Video
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Business, Communication, Linguistics, Social Work
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, conference papers, dissertations
How To: ProQuest Basics
Locating Quantitative and Qualitative Articles in PsycINFO
PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in the fields of nursing, occupational therapy, orthotics and prosthetics, health administration, speech pathology, nutrition, laboratory sciences, and other allied health professions.
Search Tips: Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Medicine, Health Admin, Public Health, Nursing
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles
Search Tips:
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Key source for Education articles and reports
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, dissertations, ERIC documents
Brief how to video: ERIC Basics
Look up Subject terms: Thesaurus on ERIC.gov

Topic Overviews (useful for some sections of EDPS 325)

Sometimes it can help to first read an entry from a reference source on your topic. These won't count as a scholarly article for your assignment. However, they can be very useful to to help you understand the overall topic and/or to discover specific subtopics that you may want to research.

The Human Diseases and Conditions provides very useful overviews of medical conditions. The Sage database provides high quality reference articles on human development related topics.

SAGE Reference & Academic Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Selected Ebooks and reference sources from SAGE.
Subjects: Many subjects, including African American Studies, Anthropology, Business Ethics, Communication, Criminology, Economics, Education, Gender Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work, Sociology.
Info type: encyclopedia articles, ebooks

Human Diseases and Conditions by Miranda Herbert Ferrara (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Provides current, accurate, and comprehensive information on human diseases and conditions--infectious diseases, various types of cancer, physical and psychological conditions, tropical diseases, sports injuries, and important public health issues.