Zotero (Full-Featured Reference Manager) & ZoteroBib (Bibliography Builder)

Zotero vs. ZoteroBib

ZoteroBib is a free and advertisement-free service, built by the team that created Zotero, that helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.

If you need to create a bibliography to support a single paper or talk, and you do not plan on reusing the bibliography items again, then ZoteroBib could be the tool for you.

However, if you plan to use the bibliography items across multiple projects, or want to collaborate with others to discover and curate a library of bibliographic items (including full text) to support your ongoing work, then Zotero, the free, full-featured reference management software, would be the better tool.

Zotero also offers many more features:

  • Browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox, and Safari to help you save items with one click
  • Automatic downloading of PDFs and webpage snapshots
  • Word processor plugins to help you quickly insert citations and automatically generate a bibliography from the citations in your document, with support for subsequent citations, given name disambiguation, ordered numeric styles, and other advanced features
  • Organization and tagging
  • Note-taking
  • Advanced sorting and searching
  • Group libraries for easy collaboration and sharing
  • Automatic syncing across your devices
  • Web access to your data, notes, and files

Library Guy

Keith Stanger's picture
Keith Stanger
Contact:
Eastern Michigan University Library
955 West Circle Drive
Room 100G
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734)487-2509

keith@stanger.com

Request Consultation