Research Guides: Athletic Training : Statistics

National and International Statistics (Web Resources)

Census Data
Coverage of U.S. census data
Behavioral Health, United States, 2019
Provides statistics and a discussion on many aspects of mental and behavioral health in the United States.
Centers for Disease Control
Contains national and international data for diseases and conditions
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
This U.S. Govt. web site provides national, state, and local data on the usage of the Medicare and Medicaid systems.
Health United States
Thit site contains statistics on health care expenditures, risk factors, morbidity, mortality, natality, access to health care, utilization of health resources, and numerous other figures from the CDC.
Hospital Compare - A Quality Tool to Find & Compare Hospitals
Created and maintained by the U.S. Dept. Of Health & Human Services, this site provides information on how well hospitals care for patients with certain medical conditions & surgical procedures, and the results of the quality of care they received during a hospital stay.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Weekly reports published by the Centers of Disease Control of notifiable diseases and deaths in cities, as well as updates and statistics on specific diseases and conditions
United States Bureau of the Census
Provides in-depth access to U.S. Census data
USA.gov
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
World Health Organization (WHO)
Provides access to international statistics on the burden of disease, conditions and diseases, and mortality; in addition, it provides public health mapping, a global health atlas, and information on health policy

Statistical Resources (Print Resources)

American Hospital Association (AHA) Guide by American Hospital Association
Call Number: RA977 .A1 A46 - 2010
ISBN: 9780872588493
Reference Collection - 1st Level North

Contains statistics on hospitals, health care systems, networks, and alliances, and provides names and addresses of national health care organizations
Data Book Detroit Department of Health 2000
Call Number: HA730.D6 A1
Reference Collection - 1st Level North
This book, containing data from the 2000 U.S. Census, is a thorough overview of the vital health statistics from the City of Detroit.
Health in the Americas by Pan American Health Organization
Call Number: RA407.5.A45 H32x
Reference Collection - 1st Level North
World health statistics as reported by the Pan American Health Organization
Moving in a Healthy Direction : Washtenaw County Health Improvement Plan (HIP) Progress Report 2001 by Washtenaw County Health Improvement Plan - Community Health Committee
Call Number: RA407.4.M5 M68x 2001
Reference Collection - 1st Level North
State of Health Atlas : Mapping the Challenges and Causes of Disease by O'Donovan, Diarmuid
Call Number: G1046.E5 O366 2008
Map Library Reference - 1st Level South

This unique book examines the statistical distribution of world health, examining such topics as disabilities, diets, working conditions, tobacco, alcohol and drug abuse, STI's, and vaccine-preventable infections, to name only a few areas discussed.
The WHO World Mental Health Surveys : Global Perspectives on the Epidemiology of Mental Disorders by Kessler, Ronald C.
Call Number: RA790.5 .W23 2008
ISBN: 9780521884198
3rd Level

State and Local Statistics (Web Resources)

Detroit Department of Health & Wellness Promotion
Includes information on population, vital statistics, nationality, morbidity, and mortality
Michigan Health Statistics
This site includes information on communicable diseases, community health information, birth defects, population trends, as well as vital, health care, and cancer statistics
Washtenaw County Health Department
Contains statistics of reportable communicable diseases