Research Guides: Taxation: Tax Law

Tax Law Sources

Checkpoint Tax Law This link opens in a new window
Extensive database of tax law info -- federal, state, and international tax codes, regulations, cases, rulings, treatises, government documents. legal citator, analytical materials, tax journals, newsletters, tax alerts, and financial calculators. Search Instruction: videos.
HeinOnline's Government, Politics & Law This link opens in a new window
This is an image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, as well as the full text of state and federal case law. It includes the History of Bankruptcy and Tax & Economic Reform in America (TERA) Parts I & II.

United States Tax Court Opinion Search
This free government web site has full text opinions from the U.S. Tax Court in PDF format, including Tax Court, Memorandum and Summary Opinions.

Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Click on Law tab to access legal research materials, such as statutes, regulations, cases, legal encyclopedias, and law review articles.
WARNING: Many functions of Westlaw will only function properly if you disable any pop-up blocker. For example, printing may not work if a pop-up blocker is active.

Internal Revenue Service
The IRS site includes forms and instructions for filing taxes, the Internal Revenue Manual (IRM), Internal Revenue Bulletins (IRB), Plain Language Tax Regulations, Applicable Federal Rates, Collection Financial Standards, Coordinated Issue Papers, Market Segment Understandings (MSU), Tax Fraud Alerts, and more. There are also links to other sites that offer tax related laws and regulations.

Ernst & Young International
The Ernst & Young site for a particular country or region often offers documents relating to taxation in that country. Sometimes an entire book such as Doing Business in Poland is available for download.
Tip: Near the top right corner there is a link to change from the United States site to the site for a different country.
Ethics Resources
Ethics resources from the American Bar Association Section on Taxation.

Use 24/7 live chat below or:

In-person Help Fall 2024 Mon-Thur: 10am - 7pm, Fri: 10am - 3pm

Appointments with librarians