Statistics - HLAD 315 - Research Methods & Data Analysis in Health Sciences - Research Guides at Eastern Michigan University

Statistics Databases from EMU Library - (Requires NetID login)

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Create demographic or consumer expenditure reports, graphs, and maps. Look-up individuals & businesses, or create lists.
Subjects: U.S. demographics & projections, consumer expenditure, market segmentation, retail sales potential, companies, consumer lifestyles & attitudes
Info type: census & consumer expenditure statistics, directory info, Mosaic market segmentation, Simmons consumer data
Search Instruction: Use the TUTORIALS link within the database.
Notes: Most company sales figures are computer-modeled estimates (not actual).
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
Subscription ends March 28, 2025.
Google Dataset Search This link opens in a new window
Search datasets available in repositories across the web.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Search for and download historical statistics on the U.S.
Subjects: History, Population, Economy, Government
Info type: statistics, data series
ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Archive of social science data that can be downloaded and used for original research
Subjects: Political Science, Economics, Education, Geography, Health Care, Criminology, Social Issues
Info type: data sets, survey data, U.S. Census data
Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for statistics, demographics, opinions, data series and studies on many topics and industries. Useful for all subject areas.

United States Health & Medical Statistics

PLACES - Local Data for Better Health (CDC)
PLACES provides model-based, population-level analysis and community estimates of health measures to all counties, places (incorporated and census designated places), census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas (ZCTAs) across the United States.
ADDEP - Archive of Data on Disability to Enable Policy
The Archive of Data on Disability to Enable Policy and research (ADDEP) is an ICPSR initiative to build a repository of quantitative and qualitative data on disability. The mission of ADDEP is to improve and enable further research on disability.
AHRQ - Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
AHRQ's mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. DHHS and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.
America's Children: Key National Indicators
America's Children provides the most recent statistics on children and families in the United States across 41 report indicators, covering a range of domains.
America's Health Rankings
Provides an analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis by evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings.
American College Student Association
Locate statistics and other resources pertaining to college student health.
American Hospital Association
American Hospital Directory
Provides data, statistics, and analytics about more than 7,000 hospitals nationwide
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
BRFSS is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. Since 1984
Cancer Facts & Figures
from the American Cancer Society
Centers for Disease Control
Contains national and international data for diseases and conditions
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
This U.S. Govt. web site provides national, state, and local data on the usage of the Medicare and Medicaid systems.
Centers for Population Health and Health Disparities (NIH)
Childstats
A collection of 23 federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families. Since 1994
City Health Dashboard
The City Health Dashboard simplifies and streamlines the process of accessing rigorous data at the census tract or city level. The Dashboard continues to grow, and is a one-stop resource for viewing and comparing data from multiple sources on health and the factors that shape health to guide health improvement planning for U.S. cities.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play. From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Department of Labor
The Department of Labor is the federal government website for information on disability programs and services in communities nationwide. The site links to resources from federal, state and local government agencies; academic institutions; and nonprofit organizations.
Disability Statistics from Cornell University
Online resource for U.S. disability statistics
Health & Medical Care Archive - ICPSR
Health Resources and Services Administration
Data from the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) which is the primary Federal agency for improving access to health care services for people who are uninsured, isolated or medically vulnerable.
Health Services Research Information Central (HSRIC)
HSR Information Central contains selective links to health services resources, representing a sample of available information on the web.
Health United States
Thit site contains statistics on health care expenditures, risk factors, morbidity, mortality, natality, access to health care, utilization of health resources, and numerous other figures from the CDC.
Hospital Compare - A Quality Tool to Find & Compare Hospitals
Created and maintained by the U.S. Dept. Of Health & Human Services, this site provides information on how well hospitals care for patients with certain medical conditions & surgical procedures, and the results of the quality of care they received during a hospital stay.
Injury Facts - National Safety Council
NSC's purpose is to eliminate preventable deaths at work, in homes and communities, and on the road through leadership, research, education and advocacy
Kaiser Family Foundation
The Kaiser Family Foundation is "dedicated to filling the need for trusted, independent information on the major health issues". It includes health policy news and well as current health data for all 50 United States.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Weekly reports published by the Centers of Disease Control of notifiable diseases and deaths in cities, as well as updates and statistics on specific diseases and conditions
National Adolescent Health Information Center
The NAHIC's goal is to improve adolescent and young adult health.
National Cancer Institute - Statistics
The National Cancer Institute is part of the National Institutes of Health. One of its missions is to collect and disseminate information and statistics on various types of cancer.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
The mission of the NCCS is to "develop and disseminate high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities for use in research on the relationships between the nonprofit sector, government, the commercial sector, and the broader civil society".
National Center for Health Statistics
National Institute of Health Care Management Foundation (NIHCM)
NIHCM is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to transforming health care through evidence and collaboration.
National Institute on Minority Health & Health Disparities
State Cancer Profiles
Provides cancer statistics for prioritizing cancer control efforts in the nation, states, and counties.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration - SAMHSA
SAMHSA is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. They also collect data in an effort to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.
U.S. Health Agency Profiles for State, Tribal, Local and Territorial Health Professionals
From the CDC
USA.gov-Health
Womenshealth.gov
Provide national leadership and coordination to improve the health of women and girls through policy, education, and innovative programs.

International Health & Medical Statistics

Cancer Today
Cancer Today explores estimates of the incidence, mortality, and prevalence of 36 specific cancer types and of all cancer sites combined in 185 countries or territories of the world in 2018.
Childinfo
This website contains UNICEF’s statistical information, including data used in UNICEF’s flagship publications, The State of the World’s Children and Progress for Children. Also here are technical resources for conducting UNICEF-supported Multiple Indicator Cluster Surveys (MICS), which are a major source of global development data.
Human Mortality Database
The Human Mortality Database was created to provide detailed mortality and population data to researchers, students, journalists, policy analysts, and others interested in the history of human longevity.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
The OECD is an international organisation Whose goal is to shape policies that foster prosperity, equality, opportunity and well-being for all. We draw on almost 60 years of experience and insights to better prepare the world of tomorrow.

Together with governments, policy makers and citizens, we work on establishing evidence-based international standards and finding solutions to a range of social, economic and environmental challenges.
UNdata
These are the official statistics compiled by the United Nations. This site includes databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points covering a wide range of themes including health care.
World Health Organization
Provides access to international statistics on the burden of disease, conditions and diseases, and mortality; in addition, it provides public health mapping, a global health atlas, and information on health policy
World Health Statistics
These statistics are compiled by the World Health Organization. Statistics include disease reports, morbidity, mortality, health systems, behavioral & environmental risk factors, health indicators, etc.

Use of this book will require your my.emich username and password.

Michigan Health & Medical Statistics

Local Health & Medical Statistics

County Health Rankings and Road Maps
SEMCOG -Southeast Michigan Council of Governments
"Access interactive databases and mapping applications featuring demographic, transportation, economic, employment, land use, aerials, and GIS information."
Washtenaw County Health Department
Contains statistics of reportable communicable diseases
Washtenaw County Health Project
Wayne County-Health, Veterans & Community Wellness
Established to coordinate and administer health, educational, youth, veteran, senior and social services to residents and communities in Wayne County.
City of Detroit Health Dashboard
The City Health Dashboard simplifies and streamlines the process of accessing rigorous data at the census tract or city level. It is a one-stop resource for viewing and comparing data from multiple sources on health and the factors that shape health to guide health improvement planning for the City of Detroit.

General U.S. Government Statistics

American Community Survey (ACS)
Census Data
Coverage of U.S. census data
Data.gov
This site contains data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
United States Bureau of the Census
Provides in-depth access to U.S. Census data