PAS 670 - Ethics and Research Methods for Physician Assistants

The author of the evidence-based reports housed on this site is the U.S. government entity called the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). Its focus is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. It does this by engaging in research and publishing the evidence-based reports found on this Web site.

Search tool that allows a user to search four allied health databases at once: PEDro, OTseeker, SpeechBITE and PsycBITE.

The ACHA-National College Health Assessment (NCHA) is a nationally recognized research survey that provides data pertaining to college students’ health habits, behaviors, and perceptions.

Bandolier, an independent journal about evidence-based healthcare, is a premier source of evidence based healthcare information in the UK and worldwide for both healthcare professionals and consumers.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

Locate evidence-based practice resources in six occupational therapy practice areas.

CATs, standardized, brief summaries of research evidence organized around a clinical question, are intended to provide both a critical summary of primary knowledge sources, as well as statements regarding the clinical relevance of the results.

The ISRCTN registry is a primary clinical trial registry recognised by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation and curation and the unique identification number necessary for publication. All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable.

When accessing this book off-campus, your my.emich username and password is required.

AOTA has developed a number of resources to help members find and utilize clinically relevant literature to respond to both their clients’ needs and external demands for information from the scientific literature.

The GIN promotes awareness of the value of guidelines, and provides high quality, evidence-based international health care information.

McMaster University -"We help the public health workforce and policy makers search for, interpret, and apply research evidence to their local context"

HSTAT is a resource of full-text documents that provide health information and support health-care decision making.

The Clinical Trials Search Portal provides access to a central database containing the trial registration data sets provided by many international registries.

Some resources on this web site are freely available and others are not. The Halle Library does not subscribe to the subscription portions. "JAMAevidence helps decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care."

Create a free account, and view the latest clinical guidelines.

This public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines is published by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Abstracts of randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews in occupational therapy

Provides access to abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews, and evidence-based clinical guidelines in physical therapy.

This site provides instruments and measures to study and evaluate interventions to improve primary care. Use these searchable databases to explore frameworks for measurement, and to identify and compare measures within 4 areas that are critical to primary care improvement:

NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogs studies of cognitive, behavioral and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain
impairment (ABI).

Identifies systematic reviews and other similar types of studies found in biomedical journals

NCCAM's web site offers evidence-based medicine resources and full-text clinical practice guidelines for practitioners and clinicians re: complementary and alternative treatments and therapies. The Health Topics A-Z section is the easiest way to search.

An open access database to Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy (BITE) across the scope of Speech Pathology practice.

The TRIP Database is one of the Internet's leading resources for evidence-based medicine. It allows users to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. You must create an account, but registration is free.

This work is the result of "an independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention that systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services."

The Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library is an online digital repository service that collects, preserves, and disseminates digital materials in both abstract and full-text format.
Submissions may include preprints, working papers, theses, dissertations, doctorate of nursing practice projects, conference papers, presentations, faculty-created learning objects, data sets, and more.

The MMAT is a critical appraisal tool that is designed for the appraisal stage of
systematic mixed studies reviews, i.e., reviews that include qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods studies.

MOOSE guidelines can be used to critically appraise published meta-analyses that include observational studies only.

The main product of CONSORT is the CONSORT Statement, which is an evidence-based, minimum set of recommendations for reporting randomized trials.

GRADE is a transparent framework for developing and presenting summaries of evidence and provides a systematic approach for making clinical practice recommendations.

PRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews, scoping reviews, and meta-analyses.