Research Guides: ORPR 630- Research Methods in Orthotics and Prosthetics: Articles

Cited Reference Searching - Looking Backward &
Forward in the Literature

Cited Reference Searching-Looking Backward & Forward in the Research Literature - Handout

Journal Article Databases

Applied Science & Technology Source
Find articles in applied sciences, computing, and technology.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
Chemistry Journals (ACS Journals)
Search the full text of 28 American Chemical Society journals
Subjects: Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Engineering
Info type: scholarly journals
CINAHL
Indexes journal articles in the fields of nursing, occupational therapy, orthotics and prosthetics, health administration, speech pathology, nutrition, laboratory sciences, and other allied health professions.
Search Tips: Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
Cochrane Library
This library is composed of six databases containing Cochrane reviews, systematic reviews, clinical trials, and methods, assessments, and economic studies in health care.
Search Instruction: Searching the Cochrane Library pdf
Digital Commons @ EMU
Digital showcase of scholarly and creative works by EMU students, faculty, and staff
Subjects: Covers most subjects
Info type: scholarly articles, theses, dissertations
Dissertations & Theses Global Full Text
Info type: full text dissertations and theses (1997- ), descriptions of dissertations and theses (1861- ).
Esearch
Search the library’s collection of books, articles, ebooks, dissertations, videos, music, and more.
Search Instruction: Finding Articles using Esearch
Gale Ebooks
Search and display the full-text of reference books.
Subjects: Many subjects, including History, Education, Film, Health, Science, Social Science
Info type: encyclopedia and reference book entries.
List of sources.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health information.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
MEDLINE
Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Health Admin, Psychiatry, Public Health
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles

NARIC - National Rehabilitation Information Center
Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, NARIC is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database contains material pertaining to physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.

OTDBASE
Search for articles in 20+ Occupational Therapy journals.
Subjects: Occupational Therapy
Info type: scholarly articles
Access Tips: No Findtext+, use Journals by Title to find articles.
PsycINFO
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Business, Communication, Linguistics, Social Work
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, conference papers, dissertations
How To: ProQuest Basics
Locating Quantitative and Qualitative Articles in PsycINFO
PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide
PubMed
Subjects: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Medicine, Health Admin, Public Health, Nursing
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles
Search Tips:
Sociological Abstracts
Subjects: Sociology
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, book chapters, book reviews, conference papers, dissertations
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Information on journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers
Info type: reference source
Search instruction:: Determining peer-reviewed status using Ulrich's (pdf)

Discovery Databases

EBSCO PowerSearch
Cross-search 25 academic/traditional databases.
Subjects: Covers many subjects.
Info type: Scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles.
Esearch (Advanced Search)
Search the library’s collection of books, articles, ebooks, dissertations, videos, music, and more, from an advanced interface that provides structured search options.
NOTE: If you use the Boolean operator OR to search for synonyms, it must be in ALL CAPS, e.g.,
teenagers OR adolescents OR "high school students"
Google Scholar with EMU Full Text
Search for scholarly materials on any topic
Info type: scholarly articles, books, research reports, theses, working papers, cited sources
Access Tips: Use link above to get access to EMU subscriptions with Findtext+ links.
If this link does not work and you receive an error message from Google then use this alternate link to Google Scholar and also set your Google Scholar preferences to show EMU library access links.
Search Instruction: Google Scholar Video
ProQuest PowerSearch
Search over 20 academic databases at the same time.
Subjects: Covers many subjects
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles, news articles, dissertations and theses
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics
Web of Science
Search for articles in Science & Social Science journals and see which articles cite an article

ORPR 630- Research Methods in Orthotics and Prosthetics

Cited Reference Searching - Looking Backward & Forward in the Literature

Journal Article Databases

Discovery Databases

Cited Reference Searching - Looking Backward &
Forward in the Literature