Zotero - Collect, Organize, Cite, and Share References

Why the Need to 'Clean Up' Content Imported into Zotero

Clicking the Zotero icon in a browser when viewing an item's description will ingest into Zotero the descriptive information (e.g., author, title, publication year, etc.) about the item.

Zotero (or for that matter, any other reference manager tool) sometimes imports more or less descriptive information than is needed for it to produce correctly formatted citations. So, after you add records into Zotero, you should review the imported descriptive information and then 'clean up' the records, that is, add or subtract information in Zotero, to insure the citations it creates are accurate.

Add Record from Database into Zotero

Record Added to Zotero

 

Quick Copy (Drag & Drop) Record from Zotero into Microsoft Word (APA 6th Style)

Note Changes to be Made in Zotero

Review the citation in MS Word and note the items to be 'cleaned up' in Zotero. In this case, there are four changes that need to be made in Zotero.

1. APA style specifies that journal article titles should be in Sentence Case. The article title was imported into Zotero in Title Case and needs to be changed in Zotero to Sentence Case.

2. The journal place of publication (Bethesda) was imported into Zotero from the database. Since this information is not needed, it can be deleted from Zotero.

3. APA style specifies that if a journal is paginated across a journal volume, the journal issue number should NOT be displayed in the citation. Since this journal (Military Medicine) is paginated across the volume, in Zotero the issue number needs to be moved from its current location so it is not displayed in the bibliographic citation.

4. There is a url address duplication preceding the DOI at the end of the citation. This is because a url address was imported into Zotero from the database, and Zotero adds its own url address to the DOI field. The solution is to remove the DOI prefix that was imported into Zotero and just put the DOI number [10.7205/MILMED-D-16-00339] in the Zotero DOI field.

Clean Up Record Content in Zotero

1. APA style specifies that journal article titles should be in Sentence Case. The article title was imported into Zotero in Title Case and needs to be changed in Zotero to Sentence Case.
Note: If an article title is stored in Zotero in Sentence Case, Zotero scripts will be able to convert the title to Title Case if a given bibliographic style calls for it, e.g., MLA, Chicago Manual of Style.


Right click on the Article Title in Zotero. A popup menu lets you change the casing of the title from Title Case to Sentence Case.

 

 

2. The journal place of publication (Bethesda) was imported into Zotero from the database. Since this information is not needed, it can be deleted from Zotero.

 

 

3. APA style specifies that if a journal is paginated across a journal volume, the journal issue number should NOT be displayed in the citation. Since this journal (Military Medicine) is paginated across the volume, in Zotero the issue number needs to be moved from its current location so it is not displayed in the bibliographic citation.

 

 

 

 

 

4. There is a url address duplication preceding the DOI at the end of the citation. This is because a url address was imported into Zotero from the database, and Zotero adds its own url address to the DOI field. The solution is to remove the DOI prefix that was imported into Zotero and just put the DOI number [10.7205/MILMED-D-16-00339] in the Zotero DOI field.

 

 

 

After Zotero Content Clean Up---Quick Copy (Drag & Drop) Record from Zotero into Microsoft Word (APA 6th Style)

Get Research Help

Call 734.487.2445 during open hours

In-person: options for drop-in or appointments

Email form

Chat 24/7 via Ask a Librarian:

chat loading...

Library Guy

Keith Stanger's picture
Keith Stanger
Contact:
Eastern Michigan University Library
955 West Circle Drive
Room 100G
Ypsilanti, MI 48197
(734)487-2509

keith@stanger.com

Request an appointment