Research Guides: Interior Design Research Methods: Where to search for resources

Library databases for fields Visual & Built Environments

Much of the research that you perform in the Interior Design, Construction Management, and Technology Studies programs is interdisciplinary in nature. This means that you'll often have to consult library databases in a number of fields. Below are a number of suggestions, labeled by subject coverage:

General databases (cover a broad range of disciplines):

Esearch This link opens in a new window
Search the library’s collection of books, articles, ebooks, dissertations, videos, music, and more.
Search Instruction: Finding Articles using Esearch
Google Scholar with EMU Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly materials on any topic
Info type: scholarly articles, books, research reports, theses, working papers, cited sources
Access Tips: Use link above to get access to EMU subscriptions with Findtext+ links.
If this link does not work and you receive an error message from Google then use this alternate link to Google Scholar and also set your Google Scholar preferences to show EMU library access links.
Search Instruction: Google Scholar Video
ProQuest PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Search over 20 academic databases at the same time.
Subjects: Covers many subjects
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles, news articles, dissertations and theses
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics

Science & Technology databases:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in Science & Social Science journals and see which articles cite an article
ScienceDirect - Elsevier This link opens in a new window
Journals from the publisher Elsevier
Subjects: Various, including Physical Sciences, Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Info Technology, Social Sciences, Business, Linguistics
Info type: scholarly articles
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Publications from the Association for Computing Machinery
Subjects: Computer Science
Info type: scholarly articles, conference papers
Access Tips: EMU does not subscribe to Online Computing Reviews Service

Health Sciences (see https://guides.emich.edu/az.php?s=36213 in addition to databases listed below):

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Medicine, Health Admin, Public Health, Nursing
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles
Search Tips: PubMed Quick Tour for a Keyword Search
PubMed Quick Tour- MeSH Mapping for a Keyword Search
Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
Problems with the Quick Tours or with any database? Try a different web browser.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in the fields of nursing, occupational therapy, orthotics and prosthetics, health administration, speech pathology, nutrition, laboratory sciences, and other allied health professions.
Search Tips: Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Business, Communication, Linguistics, Social Work
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, conference papers, dissertations
How To: ProQuest Basics
Locating Quantitative and Qualitative Articles in PsycINFO
PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide