History of Theatre

An online English-language publication about the performance of Greek and Roman drama, dance and music. Includes scholarship on performance and reviews of the professional activity of artists and scholars who work in ancient drama.

This website sells scripts, but also contains helpful information about plays that is searchable by genre, theme, cast size and cast characteristics.

Click the "Historical Periods" tab for links to relevant resources (by time period).

Selected materials from the Library of Congress: Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures and 10 sound recordings.

A resource for students of costume design and fashion history -- contains 500 images of historical dress from antiquity to the end of the 19th century.

A collection of Elizabethan-era clothing information. Includes images, resources and do- it-yourself costume-making guides.

A hobbyist's collection of images of medieval clothing and accessories, including sewing patterns.

Searchable collection of theatre costumes

Provides access to major texts of the English Renaissance in their original versions. Consists of two units: tutorials on some of Shakespeare's plays and on the making and selling of books during the Early Modern period; and a database of scanned texts.

Provides online access to Shakespeare performances from different countries, searchable by play, language or region.

An online collection of Shakespeare's complete works, including an easily searchable concordance, keyword search, and breakdown of plays by character and number of speeches.