Object-Oriented Analysis, Design and Implementation by
The second edition of this textbook includes revisions based on the feedback on the first edition. In a new chapter the authors provide a concise introduction to the remainder of UML diagrams, adopting the same holistic approach as the first edition. Using a case-study-based approach for providing a comprehensive introduction to the principles of object-oriented design, it includes: A sound footing on object-oriented concepts such as classes, objects, interfaces, inheritance, polymorphism, dynamic linking, etc. A good introduction to the stage of requirements analysis Use of UML to document user requirements and design An extensive treatment of the design process Coverage of implementation issues Appropriate use of design and architectural patterns Introduction to the art and craft of refactoring Pointers to resources that further the reader's knowledge The focus of the book is on implementation aspects, without which the learning is incomplete. This is achieved through the use of case studies for introducing the various concepts of analysis and design, ensuring that the theory is never separate from the implementation aspects. All the main case studies used in this book have been implemented by the authors using Java. An appendix on Java provides a useful short tutorial on the language.
Designing with Objects by
Here is a book that takes the sting out of learning object-oriented design patterns! Using vignettes from the fictional world of Harry Potter, author Avinash C. Kak provides a refreshing alternative to the typically abstract and dry object-oriented design literature. Designing with Objects is unique. It explains design patterns using the short-story medium instead of sterile examples. It is the third volume in a trilogy by Avinash C. Kak, following Programming with Objects (Wiley, 2003) and Scripting with Objects (Wiley, 2008). Designing with Objects confronts how difficult it is for students to learn complex patterns based on conventional scenarios that they may not be able to relate to. In contrast, it shows that stories from the fictional world of Harry Potter provide highly relatable and engaging models. After explaining core notions in a pattern and its typical use in real-world applications, each chapter shows how a pattern can be mapped to a Harry Potter story. The next step is an explanation of the pattern through its Java implementation. The following patterns appear in three sections: Abstract Factory, Builder, Factory Method, Prototype, and Singleton; Adapter, Bridge, Composite, Decorator, Facade, Flyweight, and Proxy; and the Chain of Responsibility, Command, Interpreter, Iterator, Mediator, Memento, Observer, State, Strategy, Template Method, and Visitor. For readers' use, Java code for each pattern is included in the book's companion website. All code examples in the book are available for download on a companion website with resources for readers and instructors. A refreshing alternative to the abstract and dry explanations of the object-oriented design patterns in much of the existing literature on the subject. In 24 chapters, Designing with Objects explains well-known design patterns by relating them to stories from the fictional Harry Potter series
UML @ Classroom by
This textbook mainly addresses beginners and readers with a basic knowledge of object-oriented programming languages like Java or C#, but with little or no modeling or software engineering experience - thus reflecting the majority of students in introductory courses at universities. Using UML, it introduces basic modeling concepts in a highly precise manner, while refraining from the interpretation of rare special cases. After a brief explanation of why modeling is an indispensable part of software development, the authors introduce the individual diagram types of UML (the class and object diagram, the sequence diagram, the state machine diagram, the activity diagram, and the use case diagram), as well as their interrelationships, in a step-by-step manner. The topics covered include not only the syntax and the semantics of the individual language elements, but also pragmatic aspects, i.e., how to use them wisely at various stages in the software development process. To this end, the work is complemented with examples that were carefully selected for their educational and illustrative value. Overall, the book provides a solid foundation and deeper understanding of the most important object-oriented modeling concepts and their application in software development. An additional website offers a complete set of slides to aid in teaching the contents of the book, exercises and further e-learning material.
Java Design Patterns by
Get hands-on experience implementing 26 of the most common design patterns using Java and Eclipse. In addition to Gang of Four (GoF) design patterns, you will also learn about alternative design patterns, and understand the criticisms of design patterns with an overview of anti-patterns. For each pattern you will see at least one real-world scenario, a computer-world example, and a complete implementation including output. This book has three parts. The first part covers 23 Gang of Four (GoF) design patterns. The second part includes three alternative design patterns. The third part presents criticisms of design patterns with an overview of anti-patterns. You will work through easy-to-follow examples to understand the concepts in depth and you will have a collection of programs to port over to your own projects. A Q&A session is included in each chapter and covers the pros and cons of each pattern. The last chapter presents FAQs about the design patterns. The step-by-step approach of the book helps you apply your skills to learn other patterns on your own, and to be familiar with the latest version of Java and Eclipse. What You'll Learn Work with each of the design patterns Implement design patterns in real-world applications Choose from alternative design patterns by comparing their pros and cons Use the Eclipse IDE to write code and generate output Read the in-depth Q&A session in each chapter with pros and cons for each design pattern Who This Book Is For Software developers, architects, and programmers
The Elements of UML 2. 0 Style by
For all developers who create models using the Unified Modeling Language (UML) 2.x The Elements of UML(tm) 2.0 Style sets the rules for style that will improve your productivity - especially in teams, where understandability and consistency are critical. Coming from renowned UML expert Scott Ambler, the book furnishes a set of rules for modelling in the UML and describes a collection of standards and guidelines for creating effective UML diagrams that will be concise and easy to understand. It provides conventions for: Class diagrams; Timing Diagrams; Use case diagrams; Composite Structure Diagrams; Sequence diagrams; Interaction Overview Diagrams; Activity diagrams; Object diagrams; State machine diagrams; Package diagrams; Communication diagrams; Deployment diagrams and Component diagrams. The Elements of UML(tm) 2.0 Style sets the rules for style that will improve your productivity.
Head First design patterns: building extensible & maintainable object-oriented software by If you have trouble accessing any of these resources, please let your librarian know. (Contact information found below).
