Maps

Online map with thematic layers.

Basic maps and facts of nations of the world.

Outline maps to serve as a base for your own projects.

Maps and data on the U.S. for many categories, including natural resources, population, economics, transportation, and more.

Features a physical atlas of Europe with river and mountain locator, other geographical maps, a periodical history of Europe in maps, and a collection of antique maps of Europe.

Travel, political, and other thematic maps.

Features an online atlas, selections from National Geographic's historic collection of print maps, and fun atlas puzzles.

A new online map from the US Geological Survey, with a number of data layers. Select "National Map Viewers" to enter the map.

Nation maps from around the world.

U.S. Census Bureau information on maps and geography.

A searchable database of maps, geographic data sets, and aerial photographs.

Basic maps plus an encyclopedic description of countries.

A searchable database of published Sanborn fire insurance maps held by the Library of Congress. Few of these have been digitized - for online maps, see the list of states below.

A good source of city maps, especially Chicago, but including Asian, Latin American, and other US Midwestern cities. Also available are ethnographic and European transportation maps from the 19th Century.

A large collection of historical maps, provided by the University of Alabama. Many of the state collections include a selection of topographic maps.

Historical USGS quadrangle maps, scanned as geocoded PDF files by the USGS.

A collection of historic topographic maps, including much of the US and the rest of the world. Collected by UT-Austin.

Printable maps and descriptions of hiking trails in Michigan.

Topographic maps from around the world, and including US states. From the U. of Texas.

Map locator for downloadable versions of the USGS topographic maps.

An extensive resource for federal Wilderness Areas, also including high-resolution, online topographic maps of the entire US

Battle maps, animated maps, historical maps and more, from the Civil War Trust.

Over 22,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented. Users also have the ability to search for text appearing on maps.

A large collection of historical maps, provided by the University of Alabama

Over 1100 images from the East Asian Library at UC-Berkeley.

Library of Congress collections with maps.

Thematic maps illustrating issues in US, European, African, and Latin American history.

428 digitized titles (many composed of multiple volumes) published before 1923, offering free keyword searching and page-by-page access to digitized reproductions of Michigan county histories and atlases as a resource for historical and genealogical research.

Features an online atlas, selections from National Geographic's historic collection of print maps, and fun atlas puzzles.

A map interface for locating online historic maps, including those in the David Rumsey collection.

Library of Congress website featuring digitized versions of historic maps. Especially strong with Civil War maps.

A collection of maps "from around the world and from different time periods," this resource gives insight into how different cultures communicate ideas that "range from land use to voting rights."

"From October 1944 to September 1945 U.S. military intelligence acquired large quantities of German maps in Europe and subsequently shipped them to an Omaha processing center run by the U.S. Army Map Service (AMS). These maps proved invaluable to U.S. military planners during the early Cold War years. By the 1950s, however, the AMS began to deposit these German maps in research libraries across the United States." This collection contains approximately 10,000 of the estimated more than 21,000 German captured maps in the UC Berkeley collection.

This interactive map, created at the University of Edinburgh, displays the residences, detention locations, trial locations and death locations of more than 3000 Scottish women who were accused of witchcraft in the 16th and 17th Century.

US Dpt. of Agriculture. Demographic and economic data mapped to the county level.

US Dpt. of Agriculture map layers showing annual croplands, back to 1997.

Food and nutrition information from the US Dpt. of Agriculture.

Drawing on data behind the Endangered Language Alliance's (ELA) print map, this map includes nearly 700 languages and dialects confirmed to nearly 1200 significant sites, including neighborhoods, community institutions, restaurants, and other locations where there is, or was, at least one speaker.

US Dpt. of Agriculture site featuring online map with soil survey layers. Some older surveys can be downloaded as PDF's (see "Archived Soil Surveys").

US Fish & Wildlife Service. View wetlands layers in the online viewer or Google Earth, or download digital data to use in GIS programs.

Animated maps illustrating plate tectonics and the movement of the Earth's continents.

Topical maps illustrating crises and emergencies around the world.

"The USDA Soil Survey Collection includes detailed soil surveys conducted throughout the United States and its territories by the Natural Resources Conservation Service along with other state agencies and agricultural extensions. The surveys are primarily conducted by county, national park, historic or national heritage site, or other specific geographic regions within a state or territory and can be used for general farm, local, and wider area planning."

A checklist of online vegetation and plant distribution maps from UC-Berkeley.

Population in 2010, growth rates, and life expectancy for the past 50 years.

Collection of digitized soil map images from around the world.

A blog-style portal to satellite images.

A index to EMU's holdings of the Flying Camera calendar, featuring aerial photography.

Aerial photographs from NASA, fully searchable by feature or through a clickable map.

A searchable database of maps, geographic data sets, and aerial photographs.