Research Guides: Economics: Reference

A Complete Guide to Economics

Economics: A complete guide for business by Evans, Anthony J.
Publication Date: 2020

"First published as ‘Markets for Managers', this book has proved to be a popular way for non-economists to understand and apply the key tools of economics."

Economics Vocabulary

Economics A-Z
For quick definitions of terms try Economics A–Z.

These definitions were "adapted from Essential Economics by Matthew Bishop" and posted on the web site for The Economist magazine.

Open Access Textbooks

Introduction to Economic Analysis (version 2.1) by R. Preston McAfee, Tracy Lewis & Donald Dale
This California Institute of Technology professor has placed his entire text in downloadable PDF on the web.
MIT OpenCourseWare - Economics
Free resources from many courses taught at MIT include lecture notes, assignments, reading lists, syllabi, exams, etc.

Economists

Nobel Laureates in Economics (eBook)
An Introduction to Their Careers and Main Published Works
Fifty Key Thinkers on Development
Call Number: Third floor, HD 87.55 .F53 2006 (Also available as an ebook)

Research Methods

Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods (eBook)
Includes explanations of both quantitative and qualitative research approaches.
Economists' Mathematical Manual (eBook)
Publication Date: 2005
Mathematical Formulas for Economists (eBook)
2010 ed.
The Economist's Craft by Michael S. Weisbach
Publication Date: 2021

An incisive guide that helps up-and-coming economists become successful scholars. The Economist's Craft introduces graduate students and rising scholars to the essentials of research, writing, and other critical skills for a successful career in economics.

Economics Encyclopedias at the Library

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 3rd ed. (ebook)
Publication Date: 2018

Over 3,000 topics addressed by acknowledged scholars in the field, from classic economics to more recent issues including gender and economics, economic crises in the European Union and health economics and the economics of the Internet.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law
1998
request from ARC storage
Encyclopedia of Business In Today's World
2009
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Finance, Investment and Banking
2010

Social Science Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - eBook
Nine volume encyclopedia available online via Gale Reference. This is the 2nd ed. (2008).
Encyclopaedia of the Social Sciences
Call Number: 3rd Level ; H41 .E4 1948
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Call Number: Reference Collection - 2nd Level West ; H41 .I58 2001
Encyclopedia of Law and Economics
This peer reviewed encyclopedia is free on the web. It includes articles on property law, contract law, tax law, and more. Articles include a review of the literature.

International Economies/Development

Economies of the World
Call Number: 3rd Level ; HB61 .E275 2005

Provides facts on the economies of 224 countries.
Global Economic Prospects
World Bank annual
Available full text on web
Global Financial Stability Report
Semi-annual IMF report assessing global financial markets.
Full text of current and previous eds. on the web
UNDESA World Social Report
Previously the Report on the World Social Situation.
World Development Indicators
Report data available on the World Bank site
World Development Report
Full text of annual reports on World Bank site
World Economic Outlook
Survey by the IMF staff usually published twice a year. Available on the web.
World Investment Report
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
Latest trends in foreign direct investment.
Download from UNCTAD site.
Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific
PDF of annual volumes on United Nations ESCAP site.
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Carribbean
Statistical publications full text on ECLAC web site, including Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean and Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean.
Economic Survey of Europe
Ceased publication after 2005 ed. Archived editions available in PDF.

Why Use Economics Encyclopedias?

Economics encyclopedias can give you the broad overview of a topic.

Articles are often on very specific topics; encyclopedias and books often take a more general perspective that can enhance your understanding of the specific info in articles.

Some subject encyclopedias are very scholarly. Your professors won't be impressed by WorldBook or Wikipedia; but they might be impressed by a source like the highly respected New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics.

Economic History

EH.Net
The Economic History Association owns and operates the EH.net website to provide resources and promote communication among scholars in economic history and related fields. The Economic History Society (U.K.), the Business History Conference, the Cliometric Society, and the Economic and Business History Society also support the site. There are directories of economic historians, conference listings, book reviews, an encyclopedia and data sets.
History of Economic Thought
This web site serves as a repository of collected links and information on the history of economic thought, from the ancient times until the modern day. It is designed for students, journalists and and the general public, who are interested in learning about economics from a historical and critical perspective. Included are: Schools of Thought essays, surveys and useful web links.
McMaster University Archive for the History of Economic Thought
A collection of significant texts in the history of economic thought, representing major thinkers, schools of thought, and economic subfields. Includes links other interesting economic sites. Originally created by Rod Hays and now maintained in his memory.

Ask a Librarian

Use 24/7 live chat below or:

Appointments with Librarians Mon - Thur

Question form for email or phone replies

Access Library and Research Help tutorials