Ecology and the Environment

The papers of one of the most forward-thinking conservationists of the 20th century, Aldo Leopold, are part of the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

Online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation. Text, pictures of live animals, photographs/movies of specimens, and/or sound recordings. Students write text of these accounts; we cannot guarantee their accuracy. Descriptions of levels above the species level, especially phyla, classes, and in some cases, orders and families. Hyperlinked pages and images illustrate traits and general biology of these groups. Professional biologists prepare this part.

This Cornell University guide provides photographs and descriptions of biological control (or biocontrol) agents of insect, disease and weed pests in North America.

A portal to 27 sites on invasive species and pests. Includes access to >130,000 images that are royalty free. Links to related government and academic sites as well.

This site, a project of the National Science Foundation, is dedicated to the gastropod genus Conus. It contains entries for >3K species.

Introductory articles, statistics, and graphics on basic energy topics, including production, consumption, renewable resources, and pollution.

Site from the North American Association for Environmental Education. Search for resources for professional development, climate change, global warming, lesson plans, endangered species, national and international events, and more.

Contains news, expert opinion and links on environmental issues. A very comprehensive website.

Short, informative news articles covering a broad array of environmental issues

Contains resources for educators, news, laws and regulations on wetlands.

Site includes news, science and technology regarding environmental issues, video clips, laws and regulations and more.

Links to Internet Resources about Global Climate Change, Earth Science and Environmental Data and Information. Excellent resource.

Site for the controversial organization that contains information on environmental issues from a left/liberal point-of-view.

The Happy Planet Index is a site that evaluates how various countries utilize their natural resources, and how that impacts their general quality of life. Provides data for nearly 150 countries.

This website is a valuable resource for information on the study and protection of birds.

This site contains information on our national parks, resources for educators, and beautiful images.

Contains a document bank which is a repository of testimony, court rulings, white papers and research reports on environmental issues. In addition, this site has literally scores of links to videos, images and statistics on the environment.

Includes a database where you can search 7,008 native plant records by traits or names, and an Image Gallery where you can browse through a collection of 23,457 native plant images.

Conservative web site for those who view property rights, local initiative, and economic incentives as friends, not enemies, of the natural world.

A comprehensive global spatial dataset on marine and terrestrial protected areas

The Regional Climate Centers Program was developed to meet local/regional needs for climate data, research-based info & expertise. Six regional centers provide access to accurate & reliable climate info. The expertise/data resources of the RCC are available to assist in interpreting present conditions, quantifying climate variability & assessing likelihood of extreme weather. RCCs are resources for state & local government agencies, businesses, public utilities, professionals & private citizens.

Web resources, educational tools, and interactive activities related to genetics, cell biology, and ecology. From the Nature Publishing Group.

This site provides accurate, contemporary information and access to many resources for those wishing to understand current issues in toxicology.

The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists from around the world. The project provides information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their evolutionary history (phylogeny), and characteristics.

"World Data Center System part of the International Council of Scientific Union (ICSU), 52 WDCs as of 2003 the World Data Center System works to guarantee access to solar, geophysical and related environmental data. It serves the whole scientific community by assembling, scrutinizing, organizing and disseminating data and information."

Contains the best overview of U.S. ecosystems, endangered species, invasive species, wetlands, etc.

A complete count of U.S. agricultural data, including state and county profiles covering demographics and crop production

As one of the largest environmental organizations in the world, the WWF has a website that contains the history of the conservation movement, listing of projects, news and more.

Profiles of endangered invertebrate species, with news, links, publications, and programs related to the Society's work

LINK NO LONGER ACTIVE. Removed by the Trump administration July 2025. See the NOAA Institutional Repository for reports former held at globalchange.gov. This resource was the result of a collaboration of eight US agencies: DOD, DOC, DOE, DOI, EPA, NSF, NASA, and USDA. It held databases that could be searched for statistics, resources and other information.

This link is not currently active, however other world data centers can be found at https://community.wmo.int/en/meetings/world-data-centres