LITR 210/405 - Shakespeare

Location: Storage (how to request a book from storage)
The biographical details of Shakespeare’s life are sometimes difficult to sort through but this volume is a great place to start. It contains over 300 pages of primary sources (including letters and reproductions of official documents) which are collected and presented in chronological order.

This volume contains a fine 40 page biographical essay about Shakespeare by Stanley Wells, as well as biographies of Shakespeare's writing contemporaries and an essay about early Elizabethan tragedy.

The first volume of this two volume set is geared specifically towards students just getting started with Shakespeare. It contains 50-80 page sections devoted to each of the eight plays listed in the book’s title, focusing on major themes, devices and characters. These sections include reprinted articles of literary criticism from a wide variety of sources.

The second volume of this two volume set is also geared specifically towards students just getting started with Shakespeare. It contains 50-80 page sections devoted to each of the eight plays listed in the book’s title, focusing on major themes, devices and characters. These sections include reprinted articles of literary criticism from a wide variety of sources.

Location: 3rd Level

An encyclopedia devoted entirely to Shakespeare that includes a brief synopsis, commentary and theatrical history of every play as well as entries on characters (both major and minor) and relevant historical figures.

The English language has changed considerably since Shakespeare wrote his poems and plays. This is a comprehensive guide to the vocabulary of Shakespeare’s works and Elizabethan England that also includes concise play synopses and character diagrams.

This useful reference book contains an 87-page section titled “Shakespearean Adaptations” that focuses on film adaptations of Shakespeare’s plays. Each essay compares and contrasts the cinematic treatments of a particular play with stage productions.

Early chapters describe the post-Reformation explosion of Bible translation and the development of English biblical culture; later chapters are devoted to interpreting Shakespeare's use of biblical allusion in a wide variety of plays.