Research Guides: Linguistics: Reference Works

Reference Works - Electronic

The Atlas of North American English: Phonetics, Phonology and Sound Change
by Labov, William; Ash, Sharon; Boberg, Charles
Online book: click title to access
Print book: PE 2808 .L26 2006, Location: Reference - 1st Level North

Landmark survey of the wide variety of dialects across the United States and Canada. Available online and in the library.
Oxford English Dictionary
Online book: click title to access

Reference Works - Books

Concise Encyclopedia of Educational Linguistics
by Spolsky, Bernard; Asher, R. E.
Call Number: P40.8 .C66 1999
Location: Reference - 1st Level North
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by Crystal, David
Call Number: P29 .C65 2008
Location: Reference - 1st Level North
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
by Frawley, William
Call Number: P29 .I58 2003
Location: Reference - 1st Level North
Key Concepts in Language and Linguistics
by Trask, R. L.
Call Number: P29 .T687 1999
Location: Reference - 1st Level North
Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics
by Bussmann, Hadumod
Call Number: P29 .B875 1996
Location: Reference - 1st Level North
Encyclopedia of the world's endangered languages by edited by Christopher Moseley
Call Number: P40.5.L332 E45 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Historical Linguistics by Lisa Purse; Lyle Campbell
ISBN: 9780748646012
Publication Date: 2013-02-14
This accessible, hands-on introduction to historical linguistics - the study of language change - does not just talk about topics. With abundant examples and exercises, it helps students learn for themselves how to do historical linguistics.
Language Files by Department of Linguistics Staff
Call Number: P121 .L3855 2011; First Floor Checkout Desk
ISBN: 9780814251799
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Language Files has become one of the most widely adopted, consulted, and authoritative introductory textbooks to linguistics ever written.
Dictionary of Languages by Andrew Dalby
Call Number: P29 .D35 1998; First Floor Reference
ISBN: 0231115687
Publication Date: 1998-12-29
An easy-to-navigate, authoritative guide to the world's languages and language groups at the end of the twentieth century.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language by David Crystal
Call Number: P29 .C64 2010; Third Floor
ISBN: 9780521516983
Publication Date: 2010-06-03
This new, thoroughly revised edition of the acclaimed Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language incorporates the major developments in language study which have taken place since the mid 1990s.
Key Concepts in Language and Linguistics by R. L. Trask; Peter Stockwell (Editor)
Call Number: P29 .T687 1999; First Floor Reference
ISBN: 0415157412
Publication Date: 1998-11-24
A comprehensive and critical A-Z guide to the main terms and concepts used in the study of language and linguistics.
Language, Culture, and Communication by Nancy Bonvillain
Call Number: P35 .B6 2011; First Floor Checkout Desk
ISBN: 9780205832095
Publication Date: 2010-12-17
Using data from cultures and languages throughout the world to highlight both similarities and differences in human languages, Language, Culture and Communication explores the many interconnections among language, culture, and communicative meaning.