Accounting

The FASAB site offers full text of many official documents, including full text of the Original Pronouncements and the Current Text. Also, full text of federal entity GAAP standards, interpretations, technical bulletins, technical releases, and concepts.

The GASB Pronouncements website provides information on GASB Statements, Concept Statements, Interpretations. Full text of these is not available at the site. For full text GASB standards, see Checkpoint or GASB Governmental Accounting Research System Online above.

The federal Office of Management and Budget issues instructions to federal agencies via circulars. The major topics covered include: the budget, state and local governments, educational and non-profit institutions, federal procurement, federal financial management, federal information resources and data collection. For example, this includes OMB Circular A-133, Audits of States, Local Governments, and Non-Profit Organizations.

The GAO "studies how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars. GAO advises Congress and the heads of executive agencies ... about ways to make government more effective and responsive. GAO evaluates federal programs, audits federal expenditures, and issues legal opinions."

"OMB's predominant mission is to assist the President in overseeing the preparation of the federal budget and to supervise its administration in Executive Branch agencies." Within the OMB the Office of Federal Procurement Policy (OFPP) and the Cost Accounting Standards Board (CASB) set standards related to federal procurement and contracting.

"The mission of the Governmental Accounting Standards Board is to establish and improve standards of state and local governmental accounting and financial reporting that will result in useful information for users of financial reports and guide and educate the public, including issuers, auditors, and users of those financial reports." Web site offers full text of exposure drafts and other information.

"The mission of the FASAB is to promulgate federal accounting standards after considering the financial and budgetary information needs of citizens, congressional oversight groups, executive agencies, and the needs of other users of federal financial information."

"The International Public Sector Accounting Standards Board (IPSASB) (formerly the Public Sector Committee (PSC)) focuses on the accounting and financial reporting needs of national, regional and local governments, related governmental agencies, and the constituencies they serve." Handbook of International Public Sector Accounting Pronouncements and other pubs may be dowloaded free from IFAC site.