Research Guides: Spanish Language Materials: Databases for Articles

Indexes Containing Articles in Spanish

Esearch This link opens in a new window
To limit to Spanish: Click on Advanced Esearch and then look below the search box to the Language option. Select Espanol. You may have better luck by searching for specific Spanish words.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos This link opens in a new window
Grades PreK-5. Bilingual resources - visual dictionary, world of animals, encyclopedia articles, and Spanish language newspapers. Eight categories to browse: arts, history and government, people, places, plants and animals, science and mathematics, sports and hobbies, and world religions. The visual dictionary includes thousands of images and more than 12,000 labels.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
MLA Bibliography (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Index to about 4000 periodicals published worldwide covering literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Updated ten times per year.
To limit to Spanish, change the dropdown box from "Anywhere" to "Language of Publication-PLB" and type "Spanish" into the search box. Add your other search term(s) into the other box(es)
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains about 8,000 local and global newspapers, newswires, trade journals, newsletters, magazines and transcripts. Updated daily.
Search Instructions: Top 10 Reasons to Love Factiva (pdf)
To limit to Spanish On the Search Builder page, scroll down and look for "Language" option on the left menu. X out English, expand the menu and click Spanish to select it instead.
NOTE: Limited to 6 simultaneous users. To allow others to use the database when you complete your work, please click "logout" toward the top right of the screen.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Reference guide to world history 1450 - present (excluding the U.S. and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Covers 2,000+ journals published worldwide. Each year Historical Abstracts includes ~3,000 citations to historical books as reviewed by journals in the field, and citations of dissertations completed worldwide of interest for historical research. Updated 3 times per year.
To limit to Spanish, Scroll down to the Options section and find the LANGUAGE box on the lower right. Select "Spanish"
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to the contents of about 1400 journals, chapters, books, dissertations and reports on psychology and related fields. Updated monthly.
To limit to Spanish, scroll down through the options to find the Language option, click on Spanish.
Google Scholar with EMU Full Text This link opens in a new window
To limit Google Scholar results to Spanish, click on the three-strip icon on the far left corner of the search screen, choose the settings gear icon, and then still on the left, click on Languages. You can change the google text to Spanish if you want, as well as limiting search results to various languages including Spanish.

Newsbank Acceda Noticias
No longer available.

Find Full Text Articles

No direct link to full text in the database? Click on the EMU Findtext+ link or button.

Getting full-text articles has detailed instructions.

Help with online access problems

To use library online resources and databases from home

Use links on EMU library web site or guides. Going directly to journal or database websites will not usually work.
Enter your EMU netID login and password.

Problems?