Finance

This trade association for the banking industry advocates for policies and provides continuing education opportunities. Many resources on the site are not free, however position papers and news on banking issues are often available.

This nonprofit offers reports and info on predatory practices in mortgages, payday lending, overdraft loans, credit cards, and other consumer loans.

The CUNA site offers information of interest to credit unions including current legislative, regulatory and government issues; compliance information; and statistics on credit unions, economic conditions, bankruptcies, etc.
Some parts of the site can be accessed only by CUNA members.

This directory provides access to information and reports on individual banks, including location of offices, web site, historical profile, summary of deposits, Community Reinvestment Act ratings, financial and performance reports, etc. Also, allows you to create reports comparing institutions.

"A searchable database of public financial data for all FDIC insured institutions which is required to be filed quarterly." Data comes from Call reports filed with the FDIC & Thrift Financial Reports (TFRs) filed with the Office of Thrift Supervision (OTS). Provides detailed financial data & often links to the bank website. Search by name or city & state to get a list of institutions.
Tip: Search and Download buttons are hard to find. Look in the upper left for them.

"The National Information Center (NIC) provides comprehensive information on banks and other institutions for which the Federal Reserve has a supervisory, regulatory, or research interest including both domestic and foreign banking organizations operating in the U.S."

This database has many newsletters, trade journals, and reports related to the banking industry.