Research Guides: Finance: Statistics

Look for Stats by Topic

Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for statistics, demographics, opinions, data series and studies on many topics and industries. Useful for all subject areas.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Search for and download historical statistics on the U.S.
Subjects: History, Population, Economy, Government
Info type: statistics, data series

Our World in Data
Open access site with thousands of charts drawn from research sources. Site is affiliated with the University of Oxford.
USA Facts
This site pulls together numbers and trends in government spending and results for local, state, and federal government.

Statistics - Available Online

Conference Board - Business Knowledge Research This link opens in a new window
After logging in use Economic Research link in left column to find economic forecasts. Monthly StraightTalk Newsletter includes quarterly forecasts of key indicators.

Bank Holding Company Data
Provided by the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago, quarterly income statements and balance sheets are available as SAS XPORT files. Includes documentation on forming consistent time-series to aid in understanding reporting changes.
ICE LIBOR
This site now has only historic LIBOR rates and REPO rates. (Formerly BBA LIBOR).
You must agree to terms and conditions to access rates.
Currency Trading Resources
The OANDA FX Trade site has currency exchange rates (including historical rates) and FXTrade Statistical Information.
Note: For exchanges related to the U.S. dollar you may want to use the Federal Reserve site (see link above). Currency Trading Resources is useful when you want to compare other currencies.
Damodaran Online
This site by an NYU Finance professor offers many downloadable statistics and spreadsheets related to corporate finance and valuation. Includes data on individual firms US & intl, insider trading, historical returns, risk premiums, betas by industry, tax rate comparisons, and more. Caution: although there are past years of data, he has changed methods over time--so the data may not work well for time series analysis.
Economic Report of the President
The Economic Report of the President offers many stat tables with long runs of yearly data. These include statistics related to GDP & other national income statistics; population, employment, wages, & productivity; production & business activity; consumer & producer price indexes; money stock, credit, & finance; government finance; corporate profits & stock market indices; international trade & exchange rates; & more.
Tip: Check for the source at the bottom of tables. You may be able to go to that source on the web for more detailed or up-to-date info.
Federal Reserve Board Data Releases
Statistics from the Federal Reserve including: principal economic indicators, bank data, business finance, exchange rates, flow of funds accounts, household finance, industrial activity, interest rates, money stock and reserve balances.
Historical Stock Quotes
Provides current and historical stock (and some mutual fund) quotations back to January 2, 1985. Includes the high, low, and closing prices.
ICI Research and Statistics
The Investment Company Institute (ICI) provides statistics on the mutual fund industry, including statistics on mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, closed-end funds, and unit investment trust sponsors. Also statistics on various investment markets (retirement, education savings, institutional, and worldwide markets). Site offers full text of the Investment Company Factbook.
IRS Business Tax Statistics
Statistics from IRS filings include "statistics on income, deductions, tax, credits, and more as reported by corporations" -- also statistics on partnerships, sole proprietorships, and other entities, as well as employment tax statistics.
Treasury Bulletin (U.S. Department of the Treasury)
"Contains a mix of narrative, tables, and charts related to:
- Treasury issues
- Federal financial operations
- International statistics
- Liabilities
- Financial commitments of the U.S. government"
Wilshire Indexes

@ EMU Library

Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation Yearbook (SBBI)
by Ibbotson Associates
Call Number: REF HG4915 .I2
EMU Library 1st Floor North
Annual reference work by Ibbotson Associates has historical data & indices on capital market returns 1926- present, including graphs and charts on stock returns, government bonds, corporate bonds, treasury bills, REITs, inflation, capital appreciation, etc. Data is on overall markets not individual issues. Data provided on annual and monthly basis. Also info on how to manipulate historical data, such as the Monte Carlo Method.
Note: This series discontinued by publisher. Last volume at library is 2013.
Standard & Poor's Statistical Service
Call Number: REF HG 4921 .S7525x
EMU Library 1st Floor North
Historical stats on stock indices, including by sub industry. Also, historical data on bank assets, interest rates, money stock measures, GDP, payrolls, cost of living indexes, etc. (Unfortunately, this is not available electronically via NetAdvantage.)
Investment Statistics Locator by Chapman , Karen
Call Number: REF HG 4910 .C51x 1988
EMU LIbrary 1st Floor North
Especially helpful when you are looking for older statistics. Written in 1988, it indexes statistics found in paper reference sources. Since some of those sources now have online equivalents, it can help direct you to current online sources too.

Using stats in your paper?

Writing with Statistics - Purdue OWL
Provides some basics on descriptive and inferential statistics and tips on effective ways to integrate statistical information in your writing.

Presenting Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Tables
Call Number: HA31 .N53 2010
Guidance on the proper table format in APA style for a wide range of statistical analyses.
Presenting Data: How to Communicate Your Message Effectively by Ed Swires-Hennessy
Publication Date: 2014
A clear easy-to-read guide to presenting your message using statistical data. The author presents numerous examples alongside an explanation of how improvements can be made and basic principles to adopt.