Health Economics

Blending theory with practice, this book helps readers choose techniques suited both to their data and to their economic model, and illustrates the skills required to put these techniques into practice.

Location: 3rd Level

In an increasingly globalized society, a clear understanding of international health care systems is a fundamental step toward improving the quality of health and health care systems in the United States and abroad. Comparative Health Systems: Global Perspectives explores the health systems of 17 countries through comparative study. Using a consistent framework, the chapters offer an overview of each country's history, geography, government, and economy, as well as a detailed analysis of the country's health care system facilities, workforce, technology, cost, quality, and access.

Location: 3rd Level

U.S. health system performance : an international perspective -- Is profit-seeking inappropriate in health care? -- Competition in hospital markets : the case of specialty hospitals -- Competition in health insurance markets : the case of managed care reform -- Competition in pharmaceutical markets : the case of prescription drug marketing -- Conclusions and policy implications.

Spanning over 20 years of thinking and writing, this title explains basic concepts, for the benefit of non-economists working in public health, and further develops some of those concepts to show how they can be applied to real situations. The empirical material refers to a variety of specific health problems or interventions--among others, smoking polio, malaria, immunizations, and various forms of malnutrition and programs directed to overcome them.

Call Number:RA971 .L495 2011
Location: 3rd Level
Essentials of Applied Quantitative Methods for Health Services Management shows students how to use statistics in all aspects of health care administration. Offering careful, step-by-step instructions for calculations using Microsoft Excel, this hands-on resource begins with basic foundational competencies in statistics, and then walks the reader through forecasting, designing and analyzing systems, and project analysis. The text stresses the application of concepts, models, and techniques and provides problems involving all of the methods.nbsp; It is intended to build a student management and planning ldquo;toolsrdquo; repertoire. Ideal for junior and seniors in baccalaureate level health administration programs as well as first year graduate students in non-MBA health administration programs, this book requires limited previous knowledge of statistics; its mathematical dimension is equal to basic high school algebra.

Location: 3rd Level

This text describes the relationship between nursing and health care economics and traces the history of our healthcare system from the early 1900s through today. It contrasts the economics of health care with that of classic free markets and discusses the intersection of ethics and economics. The book describes how to use economic principles to shape organizations and public policy and includes a step-by-step, skillbuilding guide to enhancing professional influence through participation on governing boards. Complex financial principles are broken down to facilitate understanding for nurses with no prior knowledge of this discipline. The book also includes relevant information on the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act.

Each Handbook provides self-contained surveys of the current state of a branch of economics in the form of chapters prepared by leading specialists on various aspects of this branch of economics. These surveys summarize not only received results but also newer developments, from recent journal articles and discussion papers.

Medical economics and finance is an integral component of the health care industrial complex. Its language is a diverse and broad-based concept covering many other industries: accounting, insurance, mathematics and statistics, public health, provider recruitment and retention, Medicare, health policy, forecasting, aging and long-term care, are all commingled arenas....The Dictionary of Health Economics and Finance will be an essential tool for doctors, nurses and clinicians, benefits managers, executives and health care administrators, as well as graduate students and patients With more than 5,000 definitions, 3,000 abbreviations and acronyms, and a 2,000 item oeuvre of resources, readings, and nomenclature derivatives it covers the financial and economics language of every health care industry sector."

Presents national (U.S.) trends in health via statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, and other health topics.
Reports available in PDF and Excel formats.

This Encyclopedia of Health Care Management is intended to help users understand the business and management issues in the health care industry. Given such a large industry with so many different issues, there are about 600 keywords defined in this volume. The keywords are classified into 16 general categories. Please see the Reader's Guide for the categories and the keywords. Additionally, there are tables on medical degrees, medical specialties, medical organizations, medical legislation, and health care acronyms to facilitate understanding of the business and management issues in the health care industry.

At the very heart of modern healthcare is a critical paradox. Today, as never before, healthcare has the ability to enhance the quality and duration of life. At the same time, healthcare has become so enormously costly that it can easily bankrupt governments and impoverish individuals and families. According to federal forecasters, by the year 2015 one in every five U.S. dollars will be spent on healthcare, for total annual healthcare spending of more than $4 trillion. While the cost of healthcare is going up, the number of individuals and families without health insurance coverage is increasing. For many, the miracles of modern medicine may be unaffordable. Health services research investigates the relationship between the factors of cost, quality, and access to healthcare and their impact upon medical outcomes (i.e., death, disease, disability, discomfort, and dissatisfaction with care). Health services research addresses such key questions as, Why is the cost of healthcare always increasing? How can healthcare costs be successfully contained without jeopardizing quality? How can medical errors be eliminated? What is the medical impact of not having health insurance coverage? The proposed encyclopedia addresses these and other important questions and issues.

The Public Policy Institute’s Health Team conducts research and policy analysis, and brings together thought leaders to develop and advance AARP’s public policy agenda on health care.