Women in Business

this ebook has a chapter that lists women who are (or have been) CEOs of Fortunre 500 companies. The appendix includes brief bio info on the women.

"This two- volume compendium profiles 327 women and includes another 100 or so entries on issues such as affirmative action and financing, laws, the Civil Rights Act of 1964, and various professions and industries." An appendix lists Fortune Magazine's 50 most powerful women in American business, 1998-2003.

"This reference provides insight into the lives and achievements of some 135 women who have earned prominence for their business acumen."

"An extremely useful guide to both the history and current status of African American women. The majority of the entries are biographical; organizations, movements, and the place of black women in the arts, literature, and various professions are also thoroughly discussed."

"Some 145 profiles, many accompanied by b&w photos and illustrations, examine the lives and impact of women who led social change. The book is useful as a resource for anyone interested in women's studies and the history of American activism."

The women profiled in this encyclopedia include Cara "Carly" Fiorina, Anita Roddick, Martha Stewart, and Oprah Winfrey.

"Profiles 413 prominent American men and women who built businesses important to the national economy by creating new industries, developing resources on a massive scale, or taking their original ideas and molding them into enterprises that changed the way people lived." (Book News review)

Yearly collection of Current Biography magazine, which profiles important and/or famous individuals, including those in business. The yearbook includes full-text of the year's articles as well as an index to the entire decade's articles.

"A response to the lack of books chronicling the contributions of women in public administration, political science and public service."

"By uncovering and documenting the enormous contributions that women had made--previously overlooked or underappreciated--this important reference work changed the way historians thought and wrote about American history. This latest volume brings the project up to date, with entries on almost 500 women whose death dates fall between January 1, 1976, and December 31, 1999."

"Containing 1,500 biographical sketches with cameo photographs/ portraits, this reissue of an encyclopedia published in 1897 chronicles the lives and achievements of US women who lived during the 19th century."

Personal and technical biographic case studies of ten women who made significant impacts upon the computer industry.