Journal Article Databases

Discovery Databases

Academic Search Complete

Find articles on a wide range of subjects, including peer-reviewed articles.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
EBSCO PowerSearch
Cross-search 25 academic/traditional databases.
Subjects: Covers many subjects.
Info type: Scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles.
Esearch

Search the library’s collection of books, articles, ebooks, dissertations, videos, music, and more.
Search Instruction: Finding Articles using Esearch
Google Scholar with EMU Full Text
Search for scholarly materials on any topic
Info type: scholarly articles, books, research reports, theses, working papers, cited sources
Access Tips: Use link above to get access to EMU subscriptions with Findtext+ links.
If this link does not work and you receive an error message from Google then use this alternate link to Google Scholar and also set your Google Scholar preferences to show EMU library access links.
Search Instruction: Google Scholar Video
ProQuest PowerSearch

Search over 20 academic databases at the same time.
Subjects: Covers many subjects
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles, news articles, dissertations and theses
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics
Web of Science
Search for articles in Science & Social Science journals and see which articles cite an article

CINAHL

Indexes journal articles in the fields of nursing, occupational therapy, orthotics and prosthetics, health administration, speech pathology, nutrition, laboratory sciences, and other allied health professions.
Search Tips: Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
Cochrane Library

This library is composed of six databases containing Cochrane reviews, systematic reviews, clinical trials, and methods, assessments, and economic studies in health care.
Search Instruction: Searching the Cochrane Library pdf

PubMed Clinical Queries
PubMed Clinical Queries search specific clinical research areas.

This is not a comprehensive search of the PubMed database. See the link above for full access to PubMed.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
MEDLINE
Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Health Admin, Psychiatry, Public Health
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles
PubMed
PubMed includes millions of citations for biomedical articles. PubMed Help Guide

PubMed is available for free via the address linked below, however the EMU FindText+ software will not work unless you access PubMed through the Halle Library's web page.
www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/
PubMed Searching - Help Guide
PsycINFO
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Business, Communication, Linguistics, Social Work
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, conference papers, dissertations
How To: ProQuest Basics
Locating Quantitative and Qualitative Articles in PsycINFO
PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory
Information on journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers
Info type: reference source
Search instruction:: Determining peer-reviewed status using Ulrich's (pdf)

EMU FindText+ allows you to see if the Halle Library owns a journal resource.