Articles - ORPR 580 - Introduction to Orthotics & Prosthetics - Research Guides at Eastern Michigan University

Discovery Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find articles on a wide range of subjects, including peer-reviewed articles.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
EBSCO PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Cross-search 25 academic/traditional databases.
Subjects: Covers many subjects.
Info type: Scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles.
Esearch This link opens in a new window
Search the library’s collection of books, articles, ebooks, dissertations, videos, music, and more.
Search Instruction: Finding Articles using Esearch
Google Scholar with EMU Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly materials on any topic
Info type: scholarly articles, books, research reports, theses, working papers, cited sources
Access Tips: Use link above to get access to EMU subscriptions with Findtext+ links.
If this link does not work and you receive an error message from Google then use this alternate link to Google Scholar and also set your Google Scholar preferences to show EMU library access links.
Search Instruction: Google Scholar Video
ProQuest PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Search over 20 academic databases at the same time.
Subjects: Covers many subjects
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles, news articles, dissertations and theses
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in Science & Social Science journals and see which articles cite an article

Databases

Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Find articles in applied sciences, computing, and technology.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in the fields of nursing, occupational therapy, orthotics and prosthetics, health administration, speech pathology, nutrition, laboratory sciences, and other allied health professions.
Search Tips: Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This library is composed of six databases containing Cochrane reviews, systematic reviews, clinical trials, and methods, assessments, and economic studies in health care.
Search Instruction: Searching the Cochrane Library pdf

NARIC - Nat'l Rehabilitation Information Center
Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, NARIC is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database contains material pertaining to physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Health Admin, Psychiatry, Public Health
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles
OTDBASE This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in 20+ Occupational Therapy journals.
Subjects: Occupational Therapy
Info type: scholarly articles
Access Tips: No Findtext+, use Journals by Title to find articles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Business, Communication, Linguistics, Social Work
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, conference papers, dissertations
How To: ProQuest Basics
Locating Quantitative and Qualitative Articles in PsycINFO
PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Medicine, Health Admin, Public Health, Nursing
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles
Search Tips: PubMed Quick Tour for a Keyword Search
PubMed Quick Tour- MeSH Mapping for a Keyword Search
Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
Problems with the Quick Tours or with any database? Try a different web browser.
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Information on journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers
Info type: reference source
Search instruction:: Determining peer-reviewed status using Ulrich's (pdf)

Reading a CINAHL Citation

Reading a CINAHL Citation

Reading a PubMed Citation

Find Full Text Articles

No direct link to full text in the database? Click on the EMU Findtext+ link or button.

Getting full-text articles has detailed instructions.

InterLibrary Loan - Articles

ILLiad Interlibrary Loan

For articles not available online or in the library, use an online form to request it via ILLiad - more info.
Articles are usually delivered online in 3-5 days.

InterLibrary Loan - Books

MeLCat is the fastest way to borrow a book via interlibrary loan. If you can't find the book in MeLCat, try ILLiad.

MeLCat This link opens in a new window
Search for and request items in many Michigan libraries
Info type: book info, library holdings

ILLiad
Current EMU students and faculty can use this online form to ask the library to borrow a book from another library. Please check MeLCat first, as MeLCat books arrive more quickly. To request a book, look for the Book link under New Request. The library doesn't borrow textbooks from other libraries through ILLiad.
Tip: If you just need a specific chapter, use the Book Chapter form.

Find Journals by Title

Search here for journal, magazine or newspaper titles. If you're looking for articles on a topic, use the Esearch articles search or databases.