Articles - HLAD 693 - Integrative Analysis Project I - Research Guides at Eastern Michigan University

Cited Reference Searching - Looking Backward &
Forward in the Literature

Cited Reference Searching-Looking Backward & Forward in the Research Literature - Handout

Journal Article Databases

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Key source for business articles.
Subjects: Accounting, Auditing, Business, Communications, Economics, Ed Leadership, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Health Admin, Hotel Restaurant Mgmt, Management, Public Admin, Technology
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles, news, reports, dissertations
Brief Instruction Video: ProQuest Basics
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in the fields of nursing, occupational therapy, orthotics and prosthetics, health administration, speech pathology, nutrition, laboratory sciences, and other allied health professions.
Search Tips: Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
Google Scholar with EMU Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly materials on any topic
Info type: scholarly articles, books, research reports, theses, working papers, cited sources
Access Tips: Use link above to get access to EMU subscriptions with Findtext+ links.
If this link does not work and you receive an error message from Google then use this alternate link to Google Scholar and also set your Google Scholar preferences to show EMU library access links.
Search Instruction: Google Scholar Video
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of topics related to psychology and mental health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed includes millions of citations for biomedical articles. The EMU FindText+ software will not work unless you access the database through the Halle Library's web page.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Subjects:health sciences, medicine, nursing, nutrition and dietetics, allied health, orthopedics, basic science.
Info type: ebooks, exam prep resources for boards and licensing exams, an evidence-based point of care database (ACP PIER), and Joint Commission resources
Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Information on journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers
Info type: reference source
Search instruction:: Determining peer-reviewed status using Ulrich's (pdf)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in Science & Social Science journals and see which articles cite an article