"The numbers used in this calculator are from the National Building Cost Manual, published by Craftsman Book Company."
CCB: Construction Criteria Base
"Construction Criteria Base (CCB) is an extensive electronic library of construction guide specifications, manuals, standards and many other essential criteria documents. Published and updated continuously, CCB contains the complete unabridged, approved, current electronic equivalents of over 10,000 documents direct from participating federal agencies."
"eFunda stands for engineering Fundamentals. Its mission is to create an online destination for the engineering community, where working professionals can quickly find concise and reliable information to meet the majority of their daily reference needs."
MatWeb: Material Property Data
"The heart of MatWeb's services is our searchable online database of engineering materials. We have over 86,000 data sheets in our collection and have many powerful search tools available to help our users find the materials information that they need. While we have a variety of sevices that we offer to companies in the engineering community, our success has been the result of our attention to the engineers, designers, and processors who use MatWeb each day."
NASA Technical Reports Server
"The NTRS is a valuable resource for researchers, students, educators, and the public to access NASA's current and historical technical literature and engineering results. Over 500,000 aerospace-related citations, over 200,000 full-text online documents, and over 500,000 images and videos are available. NTRS content continues to grow as new scientific and technical information (STI) is created or funded by NASA."
NIST: National Institute of Standards and Technology
"NIST, an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce, was founded in 1901 as the nation's first federal physical science research laboratory. Over the years, the scientists and technical staff at NIST have made solid contributions to image processing, DNA diagnostic "chips," smoke detectors, and automated error-correcting software for machine tools.
TRAIL: Technical Report Archive & Image Library
"The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) is an initiative led by the University of Arizona in collaboration with CRL and other interested agencies to identify, digitize, archive, and provide access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975. The TRAIL project began under the auspices of the Greater Western Library Alliance."
US Army Corps of Engineers | Construction Engineering Research Laboratory
"The Construction Engineering Research Laboratory (CERL) is part of the U.S. Army Engineer Research and Development Center, which is the Army Corps of Engineers' integrated research and development (R&D) organization. CERL conducts research to support sustainable military installations. Research is directed toward increasing the Army's ability to more efficiently construct, operate, and maintain its installations and ensure environmental quality and safety at a reduced life-cycle cost."
WBDG: Whole Building Design Guide
"The WBDG is the only web-based portal providing government and industry practitioners with one-stop access to up-to-date information on a wide range of building-related guidance, criteria and technology from a 'whole buildings' perspective."
United States Census Bureau - Construction & Housing
"Construction and housing data cover subjects as varied as masonry and mortgages, gas heating and street construction, and noise pollution and trash collection. Federal, State, and local administrators use the data in determing housing policies, rent subsidies, and transportation and employment-related needs. The data help in designing lumber, water, and fuel policies and contribute to estimates of the gross domestic product (GDP)."
Engineering News Record (ENR) - Economics
"ENR publishes both a Construction Cost Index and Building Cost index that are widely used in the construction industry. This website contains an explanation of the indexes methodology and a complete history of the 20-city national average for the CCI and BCI. Both indexes have a materials and labor component. In the second issue of each month ENR publishes the CCI, BCI, materials index, skilled labor index and common labor index for 20 cities and the national average. The first issue also contains an index review of all five national indexes for the latest 14 month period."