Research Guides: Allied Health Professions: Health Policy

Health Policy Websites

Alliance for Health Policy
AHP is a nonpartisan, non-profit organization dedicated to helping policymakers and the public better understand health policy.
American Policy Directory - Health & Nutrition (UO Libraries)
Find analysis and advocacy from all perspectives on US national public policy.
Health Affairs
This resource is a leading journal of health policy thought and research whose mission is to serve as a high-level, nonpartisan forum to promote analysis and discussion on improving health.
Integrative Health Policy Consortium
IHPC’s focuses on creating an integrated healthcare system nationwide.
Kaiser Family Foundation
KFF is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, the U.S. role in global health policy, and policy analysis.
National Academy for State Health Policy
NASHP is a forum of policymakers throughout state governments, learning, leading and implementing solutions to health policy challenges.
NLN-Web Resources for Public Policy Advocacy
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
RWJF provides funding, assistance, and research for projects and programs to help people, their families, and their communities be as healthy as possible.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
The Department of Health and Human Services protects the health of all Americans and provides essential human services.
U.S. Health Policy Gateway
This web portal provides a comprehensive listing of organizations whose mission relates in some way or affects health policy in the U.S.

Analysis & Evaluation Tools

Equity Assessment Framework for Public Laws and Policies
This tool provides a way to assess the equity implications of existing or proposed laws or policies. It can assist in identifying issues in the drafting, design, or implementation of a law or policy that could have a disproportionate impact on different population groups.
The Magenta Book- Gov.UK
This UK tool provides a comprehensive overview of evaluation in government: its scoping, design, management, use and dissemination. This site also provides links to the 'Policy Making Toolkit' and 'The Aqua Book'.

Federal Government Resources

Bureau of Global Public Affairs
This office of the DoS provides information for a clear and accurate understanding of U.S. policy and American values to global audiences.
Congress.gov
This is a resource for federal legislative information; a place to find bills, resolutions, committee reports and other health policy related information.
Congressional Budget Office
U.S. federal agency that provides budget and economic information to Congress.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Research Service prepares reports on topics of public interest or that are the focus of proposed legislation.
Access Tips: Also available at Every CRS Report

Regulations.gov
This resource provides access to U.S. federal regulatory materials.

State Government Resources

Association of State & Territorial Health Officials
The State Health Policy team tracks and analyzes legislation, regulations and executive orders across the states.
LegiScan
LegiScan provide services that bring all legislative information together into a single uniform interface. Free registration
National Academy for State Health Policy
NASHP is a forum of policymakers throughout state governments, learning, leading and implementing solutions to health policy challenges.
National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)
NACCHO provides legislative resources and tools related to local public health priorities.
National Conference of State Legislatures
Provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues.
National Governors Associations
NGA is dedicated to leading bipartisan solutions that improve citizens’ lives through state government
Open States
Track bills, review upcoming legislation, and voting on legislation in every state.
State Health Compare
This is a user-friendly tool for obtaining state-level estimates related to health and health care such as insurance coverage, access, cost, utilization, outcomes, equity and economic measures.

Think Tanks

Health Policy Think Tanks & Public Institutes

Health Policy Books

Accidental System: Health Care Policy In America by Reagan
Publication Date: 1999
Advocacy and Policy Change Evaluation by Gardner, Brindis
Publication Date: 2017
Advocacy for Public Health Policy Change by Snyder & Iton
Publication Date: 2020
Case Studies in Global Health Policy Nursing by Dorman, De Chesnay
Publication Date: 2018
Essentials of Health Policy and Law by Teitelbaum, Wilensky
Publication Date: 2020
Evidence-Informed Health Policy: Using EBP to Transform Policy in Nursing and Healthcare, 2d ed. by Loversidge, Zurmehly
Publication Date: 2023
Evidence Use in Health Policy Making by Parkhurst, Ettelt, Hawkins
Publication Date: 2018
Global Public Health Policy by Popejoy, Akukwe
Publication Date: 2013
Guide to U.S. Health and Health Care Policy by Oliver
Publication Date: 2014
Health of Newcomers: Immigration, Health Policy, and the Case for Global Solidarity by Illingworth, Parmet
Publication Date: 2017
Health Policy: Application for Nurses and Other Healthcare Professionals
Publication Date: 2021
Health Policy: Crisis and Reform in the U.S. Health Care Delivery System by Estes, Hollister, Harrington
Call Number: RA395.A3 H42554, 3rd Floor, Halle Library
Publication Date: 2008
Health Policy Analysis: Framework and Tools for Success by Seavey, Aytur, McGrath
Publication Date: 2014
Health Policy Analysis an Interdisciplinary Approach by McLaughlin
Publication Date: 2019
Health Policy and Advanced Practice Nursing
Publication Date: 2022, 3rd ed.
Health Policy and Advanced Practice Nursing: Impact and Implications by Goudreau, Smolenski
Publication Date: 2022
Health Policy and Politics: a Nurse's Guide by Milstead
Call Number: RT86.5 .M54, 3rd Floor, Halle Library
Publication Date: 2016
Health Policy Issues: An Economic Perspective, 8th ed. by Feldstein
Publication Date: 2023
6th edition on 3rd level, RA410.53 .F455 2015
Health Politics and Policy by Ehlke & Morone
Call Number: RA395.A3 H4257 - 3rd Level Halle Library
Publication Date: 2013
Introduction to Health Policy, Second Edition by Leiya Shi
Publication Date: 2019
Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health Care by Mason, Leavitt, Chaffee, et al
Call Number: Reserves - 1st Level Circulation Desk; RT86.5 .P58 2021.
Publication Date: 2021
7th edition at RT86.5 .P58, 3rd Floor, Halle Library
Practical Guide for Policy Analysis by Bardach & Patashnik
Call Number: H97 .B37 - 3rd Floor Halle Library
Publication Date: 2020
Priced Out: The Economic and Ethical Costs of American Health Care by Reinhardt
Publication Date: 2019
Public Health Policy: Issues, Theories, and Advocacy by Bhattacharya
Call Number: RA395.A3 B49, 3rd Floor, Halle Library
Publication Date: 2013
Public Policy Analysis: an Introduction by William N. Dunn; William Dunn
Call Number: H61 .D882 - 3rd Level Halle Library
Publication Date: 2008
Public Policy Analysis: New Developments by Thissen & Walker
Publication Date: 2012
U.S. Health Policy by Moonesar
Publication Date: 2013
Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach by Bodenheimer, Grumbach
Publication Date: 2020
Using Nursing Research to Shape Health Policy by Grady, Hinshaw
Publication Date: 2017

Government, Law, Legislation & Public Policy Databases

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports This link opens in a new window
The Congressional Research Service prepares reports on topics of public interest or that are the focus of proposed legislation.
Access Tips: Also available at Every CRS Report
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Examines controversial topics reported in the media
Subjects: Current, Newsworthy Issues (Political, Social, Economic, Environmental)
Info type: reports
HeinOnline's Government, Politics & Law This link opens in a new window
EMU's HeinOnline subscription includes access to policy briefs, publications and special collections on civil rights, international law, women, slavery, gun regulation and more. This government document and legal research database contains comprehensive coverage of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of back issues for many journals, some academic ebooks, and research reports.
Subjects: Covers most subjects
Info type: scholarly journals, professional periodicals, ebooks.
Access Tips: Usually the most recent 3-5 years are not available in JSTOR. However, EMU may have a current subscription. Check the Journal Titles search.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers political topics with a worldwide focus.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Large collection of journals published by universities and scholarly societies.
Subjects: Humanities & Social Studies--especially History, Literature, Political Science, Women's Studies, some Science and Mathematics
Info type: scholarly journals, literary magazines
Westlaw Campus Research This link opens in a new window
Perform legal research and/or search for news articles
Subjects: U.S. Law, State Law, European Union Law, News
Info type: court cases, laws, regulations, law review articles, legal encyclopedias, legal guides, law dictionary, news articles
NOTE: Many functions of Westlaw will only function properly if you disable any pop-up blocker. For example, printing may not work if a pop-up blocker is active.

Business & Economics Databases

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Key source for business articles.
Subjects: Accounting, Auditing, Business, Communications, Economics, Ed Leadership, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Health Admin, Hotel Restaurant Mgmt, Management, Public Admin, Technology
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles, news, reports, dissertations
Brief Instruction Video: ProQuest Basics
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Economics
Info type: scholarly articles, book info
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics

Health, Psychology & Sociology Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in the fields of nursing, occupational therapy, orthotics and prosthetics, health administration, speech pathology, nutrition, laboratory sciences, and other allied health professions.
Search Tips: Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This library is composed of six databases containing Cochrane reviews, systematic reviews, clinical trials, and methods, assessments, and economic studies in health care.
Search Instruction: Searching the Cochrane Library pdf
ProQuest Psychology & Sociology Journals This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Psychology, Sociology, Social Work
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Business, Communication, Linguistics, Social Work
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, conference papers, dissertations
How To: ProQuest Basics
Locating Quantitative and Qualitative Articles in PsycINFO
PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Medicine, Health Admin, Public Health, Nursing
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles
Search Tips: PubMed Quick Tour for a Keyword Search
PubMed Quick Tour- MeSH Mapping for a Keyword Search
Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
Problems with the Quick Tours or with any database? Try a different web browser.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in Social Science journals and see which articles cite an article
Subjects: Social Sciences, Psychology, Business
Info type: scholarly articles, conference papers
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Social Work, Social Problems, Poverty, Disabilities, Gerontology
Info type: scholarly articles, book reviews, dissertations
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Sociology
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, book chapters, book reviews, conference papers, dissertations
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in Science & Social Science journals and see which articles cite an article