Your research in sport management might have you researching a wide range of topics: health and medicine, business and marketing, athletic training, education, and more. Below are some suggested research databases based on the kind of information you're looking for:
Professional Sports Data: Start with Sports Market Analytics from SBRnet. It contains business data and analysis from the world of sports.
Business, Marketing, or Management: start with ProQuest One Business. It contains scholarly articles, magazine articles, news, reports and more about all aspects of business.
Economics of Sports: start with EconLit, which has scholarly articles and can also direct you to books. EconLit can find research on issues like taxes, financing, and labor issues in sports, as well as the impact that sports franchises have on the economy.
Athletic Training or Exercise Science: start with CINAHL (Citation Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature). It contains research articles on these topics, including safety, sports injuries, treatments, etc.
Mental Health of athletes: start with PsycINFO. It contains research articles about a wide range of topics in psychology and mental health.
School Sports or Physical Education: try ERIC (Education Resource Information Center). It contains scholarly articles, reports, and other data related to education, particularly the K-12 level.
Sports in Society and Culture: Start with ProQuest Psychology and Sociology Journals or Sociological Abstracts. Both will find research about the role that athletics play in culture and society, as well as how race, gender, and sexuality affects people's experiences in sports.
Sports Injuries: Either CINAHL or PubMed can be useful. PubMed is good for finding articles based on clinical studies, where doctors examine a certain treatment or other intervention for sports injuries. CINAHL has good articles on things like physical therapy and rehabilitation.
Not sure? If your topic doesn't really fit any of these, or you haven't gotten good results with the above databases, try Esearch, which looks through everything that EMU has access to.
