Getting Started
This guide is intended for students who are enrolled in Literature 316, or for those interested in researching British Romanticism.
Reference works are an excellent way of getting background information on your topic. They're usually trustworthy because they've been written and reviewed by subject experts.
Electronic Reference Sources
Off-campus access requires my.emich authentication.
-
Oxford English Dictionary and Historical Thesaurus (OED Online) This link opens in a new windowSubjects: English Language, Word Origins
Info type: reference source, definitions, etymologies, quotations -
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Search and display the full-text of reference books.
Subjects: Many subjects, including History, Education, Film, Health, Science, Social Science
Info type: encyclopedia and reference book entries.
List of sources.
Specific Reference Titles
-
The English Romantic Poets
by
Call Number: PR590 .E5 1985; Reference Collection -- First FloorISBN: 087352263XPublication Date: 1985 -
The Romantics Reviewed: Contemporary Reviews of British Romantic Writers
by
Call Number: PR590 .R43; Reference Collection -- First FloorPublication Date: 1972
-
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
by
Call Number: NX452.5.R64 E53 2004; Reference Collection -- First FloorISBN: 157958361XPublication Date: 2003Focuses on the developments that characterized the profound changes in thought & sensibility that occurred during this era.
Other Print Reference Sources
EMU Library's Print Reference Collection
Our print reference collection is located on the second level, west side.
Most reference materials having to do with literature have call numbers beginning with P.
Search Esearch - limit to Library Location: Reference Collection - 2nd Level West
Reference materials cannot be checked out.
Get Research Help
Humanities Librarian
734.487.2513
rsteven5@emich.edu
Use the Schedule Appointment link (above), email or call for assistance with library research.