Getting Started
This guide is intended for students who are enrolled in Literature 315, or for those interested in researching Eighteenth-Century British literature.
Reference works are an excellent way of getting background information on your topic. They're usually trustworthy because they've been written and reviewed by subject experts.
Electronic Reference Sources
Off-campus access requires my.emich authentication.
-
Oxford English Dictionary and Historical Thesaurus (OED Online) This link opens in a new windowSubjects: English Language, Word Origins
Info type: reference source, definitions, etymologies, quotations -
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Search and display the full-text of reference books.
Subjects: Many subjects, including History, Education, Film, Health, Science, Social Science
Info type: encyclopedia and reference book entries.
List of sources.
Specific Reference Titles
-
British Writers Classics
Call Number: PR85 .B689; Reference Collection -- First FloorPublication Date: 2003Addresses the lives and careers of important writers, as well as the themes and styles of major works and places them in pertinent historical, social and political context. -
England in the Age of Austen
by
Publication Date: 2021Provides a historical context for a deeper appreciation of classic novels and an account of what the village, church, and family home would have been like during this period. -
All Things Austen: An Encyclopedia of Austen's World
by
Call Number: PR4036 .A275 2005; Reference Collection -- First FloorISBN: 0313330328Publication Date: 2005Contains information about the social scene, workplace and church; as well as events, rituals and everyday customs that constituted life in England. -
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
by
Call Number: B802 .W48 2004; Reference Collection -- First FloorISBN: 0816053359Publication Date: 2004Features articles on topics such as science, education, art and architecture, personalities and notable works. Includes suggestions for further reading. -
An Encyclopedia of British Women Writers
by
Call Number: PR111 .E54 1998; Reference Collection -- First FloorISBN: 0813525438Publication Date: 1999
Other Print Reference Sources
EMU Library's Print Reference Collection
Our print reference collection is located on the second level, west side.
Most reference materials having to do with literature have call numbers beginning with P.
Search Esearch - limit to Library Location: Reference Collection - 2nd Level West
Reference materials cannot be checked out.
Get Research Help
Humanities Librarian
734.487.2513
rsteven5@emich.edu
Use the Schedule Appointment link (above), email or call for assistance with library research.