Research Guides: Advanced Practice Nursing: Article Databases

Discovery Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Find articles on a wide range of subjects, including peer-reviewed articles.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
EBSCO PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Cross-search 25 academic/traditional databases.
Subjects: Covers many subjects.
Info type: Scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles.
Esearch This link opens in a new window
Search the library’s collection of books, articles, ebooks, dissertations, videos, music, and more.
Search Instruction: Finding Articles using Esearch
Google Scholar with EMU Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly materials on any topic
Info type: scholarly articles, books, research reports, theses, working papers, cited sources
Access Tips: Use link above to get access to EMU subscriptions with Findtext+ links.
If this link does not work and you receive an error message from Google then use this alternate link to Google Scholar and also set your Google Scholar preferences to show EMU library access links.
Search Instruction: Google Scholar Video
ProQuest PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Search over 20 academic databases at the same time.
Subjects: Covers many subjects
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles, news articles, dissertations and theses
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in Science & Social Science journals and see which articles cite an article

Journal Article Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles in the fields of nursing, occupational therapy, orthotics and prosthetics, health administration, speech pathology, nutrition, laboratory sciences, and other allied health professions.
Search Tips: Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
This library is composed of six databases containing Cochrane reviews, systematic reviews, clinical trials, and methods, assessments, and economic studies in health care.
Search Instruction: Searching the Cochrane Library pdf
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Key source for Education articles and reports
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, dissertations, ERIC documents
Brief how to video: ERIC Basics
Look up Subject terms: Thesaurus on ERIC.gov
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Health Admin, Psychiatry, Public Health
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Business, Communication, Linguistics, Social Work
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, conference papers, dissertations
How To: ProQuest Basics
Locating Quantitative and Qualitative Articles in PsycINFO
PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Medicine, Health Admin, Public Health, Nursing
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles
Search Tips: PubMed Quick Tour for a Keyword Search
PubMed Quick Tour- MeSH Mapping for a Keyword Search
Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
Problems with the Quick Tours or with any database? Try a different web browser.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in Social Science journals and see which articles cite an article
Subjects: Social Sciences, Psychology, Business
Info type: scholarly articles, conference papers
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Sociology
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, book chapters, book reviews, conference papers, dissertations
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in Science & Social Science journals and see which articles cite an article

CINAHL & PubMed - Video Help

CINAHL and PubMed at EMU - Navigating to Your Database
Using Keywords to Search CINAHL
CINAHL/PubMed Limiting by Language
Limiting to Peer-Reviewed Articles in CINAHL
Limiting to Research Articles in CINAHL
Searching with CINAHL Headings
Using Keywords to Search PubMed
More videos
Halle Library's YouTube channel, with many helpful videos explaining advanced search techniques with PubMed and CINAHL.

Getting full-text articles

Getting full-text articles

Verifying the Peer Reviewed Status of a Journal

Guidesheet for Verifying the Peer Reviewed Status of a Journal

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window
Information on journals, magazines, newsletters, and newspapers
Info type: reference source
Search instruction:: Determining peer-reviewed status using Ulrich's (pdf)