Research Guides: Thomas A. Fleming Collection: Analysis of Collection

"...a person who reads - consciously taking up a life of reading that feeds and frees [the] mind."

Thomas A. Fleming

In the summer of 2006, Eastern Michigan University received a grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation to promote literacy and diversity. "Become a Person Who Reads: The Establishment of the Thomas A. Fleming African American History and Literature Collection and the Kellogg-Fleming Lecture Series at EMU" honored Fleming, a 1968 EMU graduate, winner of the Michigan's 1991 Teacher of the Year award and 1992 recipient of the National Teacher of the Year award.

A lecture series during the 2006-2007 academic year included story telling, film screenings and academic talks. The grant also supported analysis of the collection for the study of African American Studies and English and Literature. The analysis on the collection were written by Professors Ronald Woods and Heather Neff in the summer of 2008.

Professor Ronald Woods Analysis
"The Thomas A. Fleming Collection at Eastern Michigan University is a compilation of several thousand books and pamphlets on varied aspects of African American life and culture. Collected largely from the 1960's to the turn of the millennium, they range over disciplines, historical periods and subjects, and include Africa and the global arena within their reach. The works represent the personal quest of Dr. Thomas Fleming- high school drop-out, armed forces veteran, educator, preacher, administrator and engaged citizen-to understand the broad currents of his times and their historical antecedents. With an emphasis upon literature, religion, history, and education, the Thomas A
Fleming Collection is an intellectual cache for students, teachers, researchers and the greater public, indeed for any who wish to immerse themselves in the African American intellectual and cultural tradition. This essay highlights historical, legal, social science, theological and religious
literature contained in this unique compilation of materials. It is designed as a companion to other essays focusing more pointedly on the fields of education and literature."
From the analysis written by Dr. Woods. For more, view the PDF linked above.

Professor Heather Neff Analysis
"The Thomas A. Fleming Collection of African American History and Literature includes a number of seminal texts of the Civil Rights Era, with a specific focus on the life and works of Richard Wright, James Baldwin and Dr. Martin Luther King. Encompassing autobiographical material, literary texts and works of criticism, The Fleming Collection offers scholars the opportunity to engage in research on these seminal leaders while enjoying the benefits of a private book collection."

From the analysis written by Dr. Neff. For more, view the PDF link above.