Articles - HLAD 307 - Communication Effectiveness in Health Administration - Research Guides at Eastern Michigan University

Discovery Databases

Academic Search Complete
Find articles on a wide range of subjects, including peer-reviewed articles.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
Esearch
Search the library’s collection of books, articles, ebooks, dissertations, videos, music, and more.
Search Instruction: Finding Articles using Esearch
Google Scholar with EMU Full Text
Search for scholarly materials on any topic
Info type: scholarly articles, books, research reports, theses, working papers, cited sources
Access Tips: Use link above to get access to EMU subscriptions with Findtext+ links.
If this link does not work and you receive an error message from Google then use this alternate link to Google Scholar and also set your Google Scholar preferences to show EMU library access links.
Search Instruction: Google Scholar Video
ProQuest PowerSearch
Search over 20 academic databases at the same time.
Subjects: Covers many subjects
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles, news articles, dissertations and theses
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics
Web of Science
Search for articles in Science & Social Science journals and see which articles cite an article

Journal Article Databases

CINAHL
Indexes journal articles in the fields of nursing, occupational therapy, orthotics and prosthetics, health administration, speech pathology, nutrition, laboratory sciences, and other allied health professions.
Search Tips: Using CINAHL/PubMed Tutorials from EMU
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses, and medical educators access to scholarly journals on many medical disciplines.
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
MEDLINE
Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Health Admin, Psychiatry, Public Health
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles
ProQuest One Business
Key source for business articles.
Subjects: Accounting, Auditing, Business, Communications, Economics, Ed Leadership, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Health Admin, Hotel Restaurant Mgmt, Management, Public Admin, Technology
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles, news, reports, dissertations
Brief Instruction Video: ProQuest Basics
PsycINFO
Subjects: Psychology, Education, Business, Communication, Linguistics, Social Work
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, conference papers, dissertations
How To: ProQuest Basics
Locating Quantitative and Qualitative Articles in PsycINFO
PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide
PubMed
Subjects: Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Medicine, Health Admin, Public Health, Nursing
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles
Search Tips:
Westlaw Campus Research
Perform legal research and/or search for news articles
Subjects: U.S. Law, State Law, European Union Law, News
Info type: court cases, laws, regulations, law review articles, legal encyclopedias, legal guides, law dictionary, news articles
NOTE: Many functions of Westlaw will only function properly if you disable any pop-up blocker. For example, printing may not work if a pop-up blocker is active.

CINAHL & PubMed- Video Help

CINAHL and PubMed at EMU - Navigating to Your Database
Using Keywords to Search CINAHL
Searching with CINAHL Headings
CINAHL/PubMed Limiting by Language
Limiting to Research Articles in CINAHL
Limiting to Peer-Reviewed Articles in CINAHL
Using Keywords to Search PubMed
More videos
Halle Library's YouTube channel, with many helpful videos explaining advanced search techniques with PubMed and CINAHL.

EMU FindText+

EMU FindText+ allows you to see if we own a journal resource, and if the Halle Library owns it.

Text Instruction for Using Find Text+