Theatre & Communication

An online English-language publication about the performance of Greek and Roman drama, dance and music. Includes scholarship on performance and reviews of the professional activity of artists and scholars who work in ancient drama.

An international organization supporting the use of digital technologies to create accessible, multimedia and multilingual resources for the study and preservation of the performing arts.

Includes plots, focus charts and cue sheets from real shows, placing an emphasis on historically-significant designers and productions. Searchable by designer, genre or equipment.

Includes articles about Broadway performances and a searchable database of playbills from Broadway shows.

This website sells scripts, but also contains helpful information about plays that is searchable by genre, theme, cast size and cast characteristics.

Online journal covering the place of international film and media within history.

Collection maintained by the Library of Congress documenting North American English dialects, including recordings from forty-three states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and parts of Canada.

An archive of primary-source recordings of English-language dialects and accents from around the world. Includes approximately 1,500 samples from 120 different countries.

A collection of monologues from well-known plays, including dramatic, comic and classical speeches for men, women and children.

A resource for students of costume design and fashion history -- contains 500 images of historical dress from antiquity to the end of the 19th century.

A collection of Elizabethan-era clothing information. Includes images, resources and do- it-yourself costume-making guides.

A hobbyist's collection of images of medieval clothing and accessories, including sewing patterns.

Provides access to major texts of the English Renaissance in their original versions. Consists of two units: tutorials on some of Shakespeare's plays and on the making and selling of books during the Early Modern period; and a database of scanned texts.

Provides online access to Shakespeare performances from different countries, searchable by play, language or region.

An online collection of Shakespeare's complete works, including an easily searchable concordance, keyword search, and breakdown of plays by character and number of speeches.

Online portfolio of Emmy award winning set designer Jason Ardizzone-West.

Online portfolio containing images from over 30 productions.