Primary Sources - U.S. History Digital Collections

Manuscripts, correspondence, pamphlets, and government documents that trace the life, activism, and political influence of anarchist and feminist Emma Goldman from the 1890s to the 1940s.

Provides Latin texts and English translations of letters written by or to women in the Middle Ages, offering insight into their personal, political, and religious lives.

Digitized American cookbooks published between the late eighteenth and early twentieth centuries, offering insight into domestic life, food culture, and social history in the United States.

Digitized periodicals, newsletters, and journals produced by feminist presses and organizations from the 1960s through the 1990s that document the development of second-wave feminism in North America.

Compiles year-by-year accounts, documents, and statements from feminist organizations that trace the evolution of the U.S. women’s rights movement over four decades.

Declassified documents, photographs, and articles highlighting the experiences and contributions of women who worked for the Central Intelligence Agency from its founding through the late twentieth century.

Full-text access to historic home economics books and journals published between about 1850 and 1950, on subjects like nutrition, domestic science, child development, and household management.

Manuscripts, photographs, books, and periodicals on U.S. women’s history.

A digital edition of speeches, articles, pamphlets, and interviews, selections from The Woman Rebel, links to additional digitized documents, and contextual essays and research guides.

Provides digitized books, pamphlets, periodicals, scrapbooks, and records from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries that document the women’s suffrage movement and its leaders.

Provides digitized images and searchable transcriptions of 1692 court records along with contemporary books, letters, maps, and related resources for in-depth study of the trials.

Offers over 420 digitized trial narratives from the U.S., U.K., and Ireland from 1815 to 1914 on marriage, sexuality, divorce, bigamy, domestic violence, child custody, and notable cases such as Oscar Wilde.

Presents Susan B. Anthony’s papers from 1846 to 1934, including correspondence, diaries, speeches, scrapbooks, and related materials documenting her work for women’s rights and suffrage.

Cornell’s Witchcraft Collection has thousands of rare books, trial records, and pamphlets about witchcraft in Europe and America.

The Digital Public Library of America search page for women’s history materials across U.S. collections.

Fordham’s Internet History Sourcebook offers translated texts on women’s history from ancient times to the modern era.

Library of Congress digital collections focusing on women’s history, including letters, photographs, and government documents.

Diaries and letters of British women travelers from the 18th–20th centuries.

Digitized books, diaries, and trade literature on American women’s work and labor from 1800–1930.