Research Guides: Psychology: Where to Find Research Articles

Start Here

These databases are commonly used for finding research articles in psychology and related fields. You might end up using several different databases, depending on your topic.

You might find information about an article where the full article itself is not immediately available. If this happens, a librarian can help you get the full article itself.

PsycINFO
A database with a broad range of research articles in psychology and related fields. A good place to start.
CINAHL (Citation Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
Use CINAHL to research areas where psychology relates to health and medicine, such as mental health counseling, speech and language pathology, and related forms of therapy.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC focuses on education and children and also includes information from some social work journals. Resources include journal articles, papers, and other research reports, with some available in full-text.
ProQuest PowerSearch
Search over 20 different databases at the same time. Use this when your research topic relates to multiple subjects, or if you're not sure what subject it falls under.
Esearch
Search Esearch for books and other materials available through the EMU Library.

Advanced Tools

These databases are useful for more specific needs in psychology research and more advanced research techniques.

Web of Science
If you want to find articles that cite or discuss an article you already have, Web of Science can help you find them. It searches thousands of journals in many social-science and other science disciplines.
PubMed
A database of research in medical and biological sciences. Use PubMed for researching mental health topics, particularly medical treatments for mental health disorders.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Find information about instruments (surveys) used in healthcare, psychology, and social-science disciplines. A librarian can work with you to track down the full instruments themselves.
PTSDpubs
Find research about post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health consequences of traumatic events.
See the full list of psychology databases available through EMU.

Get Research Help

Use 24/7 live chat below or:

In-person Help Fall 2024 Mon-Thur: 10am - 7pm, Fri: 10am - 3pm

Email or phone replies

Appointments with librarians

Access Library and Research Help tutorials

Psychology Librarian

Jarrod Irwin

He/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

If my automatic appointment scheduler does not show availability, email me to set something up.

Subjects: Health & Medicine, Psychology