Research Guides: Counseling: Education Statistics

Finding Statisitics

This page provides links to credible sources of statistics and data that may be of interest to educators. The Statista database linked below can be one of the few quick ways to find statistics.

Tip: A credible source of statistics will either provide information on the source of those statistics or provide information on the methodology used to gather the data and/or create the statistic. You may be able to go to the direct source of the numbers to find more recent numbers or more detailed statistics.

The sources below are organized in the following categories:

Education Statistics - Major Sources, All Levels
K-12 Statistics U.S.
K-12 Statistics - Michigan
Higher Education Statistics - U.S.
Higher Ed Statistics - Michigan
International Education Statistics
Children
Demographics, U.S.
Demographics, Michigan
Advanced Data Sources
See Also

Education Statistics - Major Sources, All Levels

Statista This link opens in a new window
Search for statistics, demographics, opinions, data series and studies on many topics. Very easy!

Digest of Education Statistics
"a compilation of statistical information covering . . . education from prekindergarten through graduate school. . . . including the number of schools and colleges, teachers, enrollments, and graduates, in addition to educational attainment, finances, and federal funds for education, libraries, and international comparisons."
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The U.S. government's collection of statistics on education topics for all levels of education. Includes:
Common Core of Data - CCD
School District Demographics System - SDDS
International Data Explorer - IDE
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System - IPEDS
Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS)
National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP)
U.S. Department of Education Data & Statistics page
Browse for data and statistics by topic.
The Education Trust Data Tools
Includes College Results Online, State Academic Performance and Improvement Tool, K-12 Assignments Analysis Tool, Pell Graduation Rate Data Tool, State of Funding Equity Data Tool, . . .
The Education Trust Infographics
Searchable database of infographics related to K-12 and higher education.
Projections of Education Statistics
This annual report "provides national-level data on enrollment, teachers, high school graduates, and expenditures at the elementary and secondary level, and enrollment and degrees at the postsecondary level for the past 15 years and projections [10 years out]. For the 50 states and the District of Columbia."
Our World in Data
Open access site with thousands of charts drawn from research sources. Site is affiliated with the University of Oxford.

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Create demographic or consumer expenditure reports, graphs, and maps. Look-up individuals & businesses, or create lists.
Subjects: U.S. demographics & projections, consumer expenditure, market segmentation, retail sales potential, companies, consumer lifestyles & attitudes
Info type: census & consumer expenditure statistics, directory info, Mosaic market segmentation, Simmons consumer data
Search Instruction: Use the TUTORIALS link within the database.
Notes: Most company sales figures are computer-modeled estimates (not actual).
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
Subscription ends March 28, 2025.

K-12 Statistics - US

ED Data Express
Retrieve detailed statistics related to K-12 education for the United States at the national or state level.
The Nation's Report Card - NAEP
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) reports on academic achievement of elementary and secondary students in the United States at the national, state, and local levels.
Quality Counts - Education Week
Quality Counts is Education Week's annual report on state-level efforts to improve public education. Published in January, each year the report may focus on a particular issue.
ACT Research
Research reports based on the ACT test.
Humanities Indicators - American Academy of Arts & Sciences
Includes many achievement indicators and indicators related to K-12 teachers. Can be downloaded to Excel.
Education Week Research Center
"The Research Center conducts annual policy surveys, collects data, and performs analyses that appear in the Quality Counts and Diplomas Count annual issues of Education Week."
Title II National Teacher Preparation Data
Provides statistics and data on teacher preparation programs and teacher credentials.
Racial and Ethnic Differences in Parental Attitudes and Concerns About School Reopening During the COVID-19 Pandemic — United States, July 2020
from Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) - CDC
NEA Rankings and Estimates Report
Reports average teacher salary by state.

K-12 Statistics - Michigan

MI School Data - Michigan Department of Education
ED Data Express
Retrieve detailed statistics related to K-12 education for the United States at the national or state level.
Michigan Income, Income Tax, and Property Tax Credits by School District
Data Driven Detroit
MI School Financial Dashboard

Higher Education Statistics - U.S.

American Council on Education - Reports
Some ACE reports include statistics.
The Chronicle of Higher Education - Data
EMU subscription was stopped due to budget cuts, so you won't be able to access the "locked" sections
College and University Endowments - Congressional Research Service
Report includes statistics.
College Board Publications
Council of Graduate Schools - benchmarking reports
Some of these are free online. Check Esearch for others.
Delta Cost Project
Produces reports and data sets on higher ed finance, including the report Trends in College Spending and the Delta Cost Project Database, "a longitudinal database derived from the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) surveys on finance, enrollment, staffing, completions, and student aid . . ."
Higher Education Price Index - HEPI
The Higher Education Price Index (HEPI) is an inflation index designed specifically to track the main cost drivers in higher education.
Higher Education Research Institute - HERI
Includes annual surveys such as:
The American Freshman
Senior College Survey
Your First College Year
Diverse Learning Environments Survey
HERI Faculty Survey
Humanities Indicators - American Academy of Arts & Sciences
Includes GRE indicators, statistics on many specific undergraduate and graduate degrees, statistics on faculty in specific fields, earnings info for humanities majors, and more. Can be downloaded to Excel.
Indicators of Higher Education Equity in the United States - Pell Institute
Look under the Equity Indicators menu to find early reports "compile historical statistical data from the nationally representative government statistics including the Census Bureau household studies and the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)-sponsored high school and college longitudinal studies which track college entrance and completion by family income, socioeconomic status, and race/ethnicity."
National Association of College and University Business Officers
Includes survey data related to higher education finance and student financial aid. Also numerous links to additional sources of statistics on higher ed finance, enrollment, government aid, etc.
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES)
NCSES is responsible for statistical data on the following: Research and Development, the science and engineering workforce, U.S. competitiveness in science/engineering/technology/R&D, and the condition and progress of STEM education in the United States.
Opportunity Insights
Statistics on higher education and upward mobility.
Postsecondary Enrollment Before, During, and Since the Great Recession
Census Bureau report, April 2018
Real Wage Trends, 1979 to 2019
Congressional Research Service analysis includes effect of "college premium" on wages.
Smoke-Free and Tobacco-Free Policies in Colleges and Universities ― United States and Territories, 2017
CDC report
Bachelor’s Degree Attainment in the United States: 2005 to 2019
American Community Survey
College Savings & Student Debt Study - Fidelity
Fidelity Investments' College Savings Indicator Study has been conducted on a regular basis since 2007. The study is designed to measure college savings behaviors, attitudes, and expectations of parents with children they intend to send to college.
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics - NSF
Includes an annual census conducted since 1957 of all individuals receiving a research doctorate from an accredited U.S. institution in a given academic year. Also, other surveys related to STEM education and R&D.

Higher Ed Statistics - Michigan

Community College Data - Michigan Community College NETwork
MI School Data - Postsecondary
Data Driven Detroit
Study of Michigan Public University Enrollment Patterns by County and Institution
Senate Fiscal Agency. Lansing, September, 2018.
Student Scholarships and Grants Annual Reports
Michigan Department of Treasury - Student Financial Services Bureau. Links to annual reports are at the bottom of the page.
MI House Fiscal Agency - Higher Education
Statistics on appropriations; statistics on tuition and enrollment; and Michigan Higher Education Institutional Data Inventory (HEIDI) Summary Data Reports.
MI Student Aid - Annual Reports

International Education Statistics

Education Policy and Data Center
EPDC provides global education data, tools for data visualization, and policy-oriented analysis aimed at improving schools and learning in developing countries.
Eurydice - European Commission
Info on education systems and policies in European countries.
International Data Explorer - IDE
From the U.S. National Center for Educational Statistics (NCES), this database allows you to compare U.S. education data with that of other countries
Legatum Prosperity Index
Countries ranked by numerous factors (including education) by a London-based think tank which works "to create the pathways from poverty to prosperity, by fostering Open Economies, Inclusive Societies and Empowered People."
OECD Education GPS
Education GPS is the OECD source for internationally comparable data and analysis on education policies and practices, opportunities and outcomes.
PIAAC - OECD Survey of Adult Skills
International assessment of adult skills in literacy, numeracy, and problem solving.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics - UIS.Stat
UIS.Stat contains all the latest available data and indicators, for education, literacy, science, technology and innovation, culture, communication and information. Site allows you to build your own tables, graphs and maps.
World Bank Education Statistics (EdStats)
Data "for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures and equity."

Children

Child & Family Data Archive (C&F Data Archive)
"discover, access, and analyze data on early care, education, and families. C&F Data Archive hosts datasets about young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them."
Children's Defense Fund Data and Research
The CDF publishes reports that include statistics on topics such as: child poverty, child hunger, health disparities, gun violence, school suspensions, and the juvenile justice system.
Children’s Exposure to Violence, Crime, and Abuse - U.S. Department of Justice & CDC
ChildStats.gov – Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
Child Support
Statistics from the Current Population Survey.
Expenditures on Children By Families - USDA
Also known as the "cost of raising a child" report.
Kids Count - Michigan
Michigan and national statistics on the well-being of children
Kids Count Data Center - Ann E. Casey Foundation
Kids Count in Michigan Data Book
Monitoring the Future
"an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults."
Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder in Children Ages 5–17 Years: United States, 2020–2022
Chronic School Absenteeism for Health-related Reasons Among Children Ages 5‒17 Years: United States, 2022
Teenage Pregnancy Prevention: Statistics and Programs
Congressional Research Service Report
About Youth Violence - CDC
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Demographics, US

Explore Census Data
Search for data and statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau.
National Demographic Analysis Tables: 2020 - U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Census Bureau - Quick Facts
Census Atlas of the United States
American Time Use Survey

DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
Create demographic or consumer expenditure reports, graphs, and maps. Look-up individuals & businesses, or create lists.
Subjects: U.S. demographics & projections, consumer expenditure, market segmentation, retail sales potential, companies, consumer lifestyles & attitudes
Info type: census & consumer expenditure statistics, directory info, Mosaic market segmentation, Simmons consumer data
Search Instruction: Use the TUTORIALS link within the database.
Notes: Most company sales figures are computer-modeled estimates (not actual).
Access Tips: Also available via mel.org
Subscription ends March 28, 2025.

Pew Research Hispanic Trends Project
"The project conducts public opinion surveys that aim to illuminate Latino views on a range of social matters and public policy issues, including its annual National Survey of Latinos. It also publishes demographic studies and other social science research on a wide range of topics, including economics and personal finances, Hispanic/Latino identity, education, health care, immigration trends, the Latino vote, technology adoption, youth and work and employment. The project is well-known for its estimates of the unauthorized immigrant population in the U.S."
Pew Social and Demographic Trends
Studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. The project explores these topics by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.
Population Reference Bureau
- for both U.S. and international demographics
America's Young Adults
special statistical report on ages 18-24
Foreign-Born Population in the United States: 2022
Living Longer: Historical and Projected Life Expectancy in the United States, 1960 to 2060
Census report issued February 2020
Sexual Orientation
Statistics from National Health Interview Survey
Same-Sex Couple Households: 2019
American Community Survey
Young Adult Migration
Statistics on the migration patterns of young adults in the United States.

Demographics, Michigan

SEMCOG Community Profiles
- Sourtheast Michigan communities
Michigan Statewide Population Projections through 2050
Data Driven Detroit
Kids Count - Michigan
Michigan and national statistics on the well-being of children

Advanced Data Sources

ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Archive of social science data that can be downloaded and used for original research. Includes U.S. Census data, surveys, and education related data, such as the Higher Education General Information System (HEGIS), the predecessor to Integrated Postsecondary Education Statistics (IPEDS).

JSTOR Data for Research (DfR)
For text mining projects, you can create datasets of content on JSTOR. Data available through the service includes metadata, n-grams, and word counts for most articles and book chapters, and for all research reports and pamphlets on JSTOR. Datasets are produced at no cost to researchers and may include data for up to 25,000 documents. You will need to set up a JSTOR account to use this feature, but it is free to you.
Measures of Effective Teaching Longitudinal Database
NERD$
The National Education Resource Database on Schools offers researchers school spending data files for most U.S. states.
Opportunity Insights - Data ("the Chetty data")
Word Bank
Wordbank is an open database of children’s vocabulary growth, featuring data from contributors around the world. Wordbank archives data from the MacArthur-Bates Communicative Development Inventory (MB-CDI), a family of parent-report questionnaires and enables researchers to browse these data in interactive analyses and access them via the wordbankr R package.

Get Research Help

Use 24/7 live chat below or:

In-person Help Fall 2024 Mon-Thur: 10am - 7pm, Fri: 10am - 3pm

Email or phone replies

Appointments with librarians

Access Library and Research Help tutorials

Education Librarian

Kate Pittsley-Sousa

Contact:

kate.pittsley@emich.edu

Subjects: Education

For Grad Students & Faculty

Research Statistics Consulting
Consultation is available for faculty and graduate students on research and instrument design, instrument validation, sample selection and sampling methods, data collection, data analysis, results interpretation and display.
Data Management guide
Tips on data management plans, data repositories, and agency data management requirements.

Using stats in your paper?

Writing with Statistics - Purdue OWL
Provides some basics on descriptive and inferential statistics and tips on effective ways to integrate statistical information in your writing.

Presenting Your Findings: A Practical Guide for Creating Tables
Call Number: HA31 .N53 2010
Guidance on the proper table format in APA style for a wide range of statistical analyses.
Presenting Data: How to Communicate Your Message Effectively by Ed Swires-Hennessy
Publication Date: 2014
A clear easy-to-read guide to presenting your message using statistical data. The author presents numerous examples alongside an explanation of how improvements can be made and basic principles to adopt.

Counseling