Research Guides: ECON 508/580 International Trade: Reference

Economics Vocabulary

Economics A-Z
For quick definitions of terms try Economics A–Z.

These definitions were "adapted from Essential Economics by Matthew Bishop" and posted on the web site for The Economist magazine.

International Economies/Development

Global Economic Prospects
World Bank annual
Available full text on web
Global Financial Stability Report
Semi-annual IMF report assessing global financial markets.
Full text of current and previous eds. on the web
Report on the World Social Situation
United Nations (biennial report)
current and previous reports on the web
World Development Indicators
Report data available on the World Bank site
World Development Report
Full text of annual reports on World Bank site
World Economic Outlook
Survey by the IMF staff usually published twice a year. Available on the web.
World Investment Report
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development
Latest trends in foreign direct investment.
Download from UNCTAD site.
Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific
PDF of annual volumes on United Nations ESCAP site.
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Carribbean
Statistical publications full text on ECLAC web site, including Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean and Statistical Yearbook for Latin America and the Caribbean.
Economic Survey of Europe
Ceased publication after 2005 ed. Archived editions available in PDF.

Economics Encyclopedias at the Library

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, 3rd ed. (ebook)
Publication Date: 2018
Over 3,000 topics addressed by acknowledged scholars in the field, from classic economics to more recent issues including gender and economics, economic crises in the European Union and health economics and the economics of the Internet.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Money & Finance (3 vols)
Call Number: Reference HG151 .N48 1992
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law
Call Number: ARC Storage K487.E3 N48x 1998

Social Science Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - eBook
Nine volume encyclopedia available online via Gale Reference. This is the 2nd ed. (2008).
Encyclopedia of Law and Economics
This peer reviewed encyclopedia is free on the web. It includes articles on property law, contract law, tax law, and more. Articles include a review of the literature.

Open Access Textbooks

Introduction to Economic Analysis by R. Preston McAfee
This California Institute of Technology professor has placed his entire text in downloadable PDF on the web.
MIT OpenCourseWare - Economics
Free resources from many courses taught at MIT include lecture notes, assignments, reading lists, syllabi, exams, etc.

Research Methods

Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods (eBook)
Includes explanations of both quantitative and qualitative research approaches.
Economists' Mathematical Manual (eBook)
Mathematical Formulas for Economists (eBook)
2010 ed.

Why Use Economics Encyclopedias?

Economics encyclopedias can give you the broad overview of a topic.

Articles are often on very specific topics; encyclopedias and books often take a more general perspective that can enhance your understanding of the specific info in articles.

Some subject encyclopedias are very scholarly. Your professors won't be impressed by WorldBook or Wikipedia; but they might be impressed by a source like the highly respected New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics.

Ask a Librarian

Use 24/7 live chat below or:

In-person Help Fall 2024 Mon-Thur: 10am - 7pm, Fri: 10am - 3pm

Email or phone replies

Appointments with librarians

Access Library and Research Help tutorials