Article Databases
Use these databases to find articles and reports on specific topics. The Search Tutorial tab at left provides video instruction on using databases to find articles.
ERIC, PsycINFO, and Google Scholar are the most generally useful article databases for education topics. For some topics, additional databases may be useful.
Tip: To find historical background try using this ERIC subject in your search: "Educational History"
-
ERIC This link opens in a new windowKey source for Education articles and reports. To update results use Supplemental Education Index.
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, dissertations, ERIC documents
Brief how to video: ERIC Basics
Look up Subject terms: Thesaurus on ERIC.gov -
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowSubjects: Psychology, Education, Business, Communication, Linguistics, Social Work
Info type: scholarly articles, book info, conference papers, dissertations
How To: ProQuest Basics
Locating Quantitative and Qualitative Articles in PsycINFO
PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide -
Google Scholar with EMU Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for scholarly materials on any topic
Info type: scholarly articles, books, research reports, theses, working papers, cited sources
Access Tips: Use link above to get access to EMU subscriptions with Findtext+ links.
If this link does not work and you receive an error message from Google then use this alternate link to Google Scholar and also set your Google Scholar preferences to show EMU library access links.
Search Instruction: Google Scholar Video -
ProQuest PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
Search over 20 academic databases at the same time.
Subjects: Covers many subjects
Info type: scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles, news articles, dissertations and theses
Brief How-To Video: ProQuest Basics -
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowMay be useful for finding the historical background of your topic.
Subjects: American History
Info type: scholarly articles, magazine articles, book & video info, dissertation info -
Opposing ViewPoints This link opens in a new windowEasy way to start research on controversial or hot topics, such as alternative schools, autism, bilingual education, bullying, charter schools, childhood obesity, creationism, high school dropouts, home schooling, online education, school reform, school uniforms, school violence, sex education. student loans, student rights, teacher pay, teacher unions, testing, Title IX, zero tolerance policies, etc.
-
EBSCO PowerSearch This link opens in a new windowCross-search 25 academic/traditional databases.
Subjects: Covers many subjects.
Info type: Scholarly articles, professional articles, magazine articles.
Very Short Video on Using ERIC
Tough Topics
Comparison of educational systems, Finland v. U.S.
Try this search in ERIC:
finland AND "united states" AND su("comparative analysis")
Technology helping or hurting?
Try this search in ERIC:
SUBJECT.exact("Educational Technology") AND SUBJECT.exact("Instructional Effectiveness")
Why male secondary school teachers are paid more
Surprisingly difficult to search for. Try "chasing" the citations to this article:
Lee, V. E., & Smith, J. B. (1990). Gender equity in teachers' salaries: A multilevel approach. Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis, 12(1), 57-81.
